CHAD KROEGER Says One Song On NICKELBACK's New Album Is 15 Years Old

September 11, 2022

Canadian rock band NICKELBACK will release its long-awaited new album, "Get Rollin'", on November 18 via BMG. Asked in a new interview with Lou Brutus of HardDrive Radio if making the LP during the pandemic afforded the group an opportunity to do things differently this time around, frontman Chad Kroeger said (as transcribed by BLABBERMOUTH.NET): "Yes. Absolutely. Because when you've got all the time in the world and there isn't a record company kicking your ass, saying, 'Guys, we've gotta hit this window. And that gets you here. That gets you here. That gets you on tour at this time,' when you've got managers and record companies telling you great windows where you can do all these things, when there's no one doing any of that it's just, like, 'Do whatever you want. Go get fat. Work on your golf game,' it's not incredibly motivating. But it had just gone on so long, we were just, like, 'You guys, we've gotta make some new music here.' So we ditched the whole anniversary of 'All The Right Reasons' tour — we let all those dates go, as other people did at the time — and in the studio, started working. And it was sporadic; it wasn't head down, let's go, song after song after song. It was work on a tune, chill for a bit, work on a tune, see where it goes."

He continued: "This was the first time in the history of the band where we recorded more songs than we used. Because usually if we get the verse, chorus, verse, chorus, then we'll tuck that away and say, 'Okay, that's good for now. We know where we're going with the song. We know what it's gonna do. And it's in the vault.' And then we'll move on to the next one. And there are three or four this time where we just had too many of the same kind of song and we didn't need that many of them, so we set them aside.

"There is a song that is going to be released with this record in November that I have been sitting on for — I wanna say 15 years," Chad revealed. "But we needed the right time. And the song's called 'Does Heaven Even Know You're Missing?' So when anybody listens to that song off the record, they're gonna know, it's, like, 'Oh,' what era, what timeline that kind of came from… But most of the material on there is new; there's not too much stuff that was way, way, way back in the vault. And I've still got… I mean, we've got tons. If I die [laughs], we can keep releasing music for quite some time. We can keep pissing people off for decades."

The first single from "Get Rollin'", a song called "San Quentin", was released last week. The track was inspired after Chad met a real-life warden from the notorious high security California prison. The song follows the story as he plots his clever escape. In addition to "San Quentin", the band's forthcoming collection will feature 10 new songs all penned by NICKELBACK.

"Get Rollin'" and "Get Rollin' (Deluxe)" will be available via digital platforms and physical CD format. The deluxe edition includes four bonus tracks — acoustic versions of "High Time", "Just One More", "Does Heaven Even Know You're Missing?" and "Horizon". Standard and exclusive versions of the album will also be released on vinyl in 2023.

"Get Rollin'" track listing:

01. San Quentin
02. Skinny Little Missy
03. Those Days
04. High Time
05. Vegas Bomb
06. Tidal Wave
07. Does Heaven Even Know You're Missing?
08. Steel Still Rusts
09. Horizon
10. Standing In The Dark
11. Just One More
12. High Time (Acoustic) *
13. Does Heaven Even Know You're Missing? (Acoustic) *
14. Just One More (Acoustic) *
15. Horizon (Acoustic) *

* "Get Rollin'" deluxe version

Amassing hits for over two decades, NICKELBACK is the 11th best-selling musical act of all time, counting over 50 million units sold and over 4.7 billion career streams to date. The band has released 23 chart-topping singles, with 19 reaching the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 chart. Their undeniable success has resulted in over 26 awards, including Billboard Music Awards, American Music Awards, MTV Video Music Awards, MuchMusic Video Awards, People's Choice Awards, JUNO Awards, and more. Among their numerous accolades the band has also achieved 12 consecutive sold-out tours, with nearly 10 million tickets sold worldwide.

Named the "most successful rock back of the decade" by Billboard in 2009, NICKELBACK is one of the most commercially viable and important rock acts of the past two decades. The four-piece, comprised of Chad, Mike Kroeger, Ryan Peake and Daniel Adair, is globally celebrated for its career-defining and award-winning hits, including "How You Remind Me", "Photograph", "Far Away" and "Rockstar", which all held top spots on the Billboard 100. Their success includes worldwide sales of more than 50 million units, solidifying their status as one of the top-selling acts of all time and the second best-selling foreign act in the USA in the 2000's decade, behind only THE BEATLES. Their inescapable, irresistible smash "How You Remind Me" was named Billboard's "Top Rock Song Of The Decade". It was the number-one most played song on U.S. radio (any format) in the 2000s decade according to Nielsen Soundscan, with over 1.2 million spins.

Amongst all these accolades, they've also been named Billboard's "Top Rock Group Of The Decade" and received nine Grammy Award nominations, three American Music Awards, a World Music Award, a People's Choice Award, twelve JUNO Awards, seven MuchMusic Video Awards, and have been inducted into Canada's Walk Of Fame (2007). With more than 23 chart-topping singles and fans spanning the globe, NICKELBACK boasts twelve consecutive sold-out world tours, playing to well over 10 million diehard and adoring fans.

Find more on Nickelback
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).