DIO: 'The Studio Albums: 1996-2004' Limited-Edition Deluxe CD And LP Box Sets Due In September

August 17, 2023

BMG and Niji Entertainment Group Inc. have partnered to issue limited-edition deluxe CD and LP box sets of Ronnie James Dio's final four studio albums on September 22, 2023. Titled "The Studio Albums: 1996-2004", the set will include "Angry Machines" (1996),"Magica" (2000),"Killing The Dragon" (2002) and "Master Of The Moon" (2004).

The LP set is housed in a sideloading box with newly created art on five 180g color LPs ("Angry Machines" on Halloween orange with black marble LP, "Killing The Dragon" on transparent yellow with black marble LP, "Master Of The Moon" on electric blue with milky clear marble LP and "Magica" on transparent blood red and black smoke 2LP plus the rare single "Electra" on a cobalt blue 7".

Ronnie's widow and longtime manager Wendy Dio says: "I am very excited to be working with BMG, a label that still has a passion for rock music. They will be making the complete DIO catalogue available again with some interesting surprises."

"Angry Machines"

Originally released in 1996 and featuring the lineup of Ronnie James Dio (vocals),Tracy G (guitars),Jeff Pilson (bass),Vinny Appice (drums) and Scott Warren (keyboards).

CD and LP track listing:

01. Institutional Man
02. Don't Tell The Kids
03. Black
04. Hunter Of The Heart
05. Stay Out Of My Mind
06. Big Sister
07. Double Monday
08. Golden Rules
09. Dying In America
10. This Is Your Life


Originally released in 2000 and featuring the lineup of Ronnie James Dio (vocals),Craig Goldy (guitars),Jimmy Bain (bass),and Simon Wright (drums),the two-LP set includes a bonus 7" of studio track "Electra"

CD and LP track listing:

01. Discovery
02. Magica Theme
03. Lord Of The Last Day
04. Fever Dreams
05. Turn To Stone
06. Feed My Head
07. Eriel
08. Chalis
09. As Long As It's Not About Love
10. Losing My Insanity
11. Otherworld
12. Magica (Reprise)
13. Lord Of the Last Day (Reprise)

"Killing The Dragon"

Originally released in 2002 and featuring the lineup of Ronnie James Dio (vocals),Doug Aldrich (guitars),Jimmy Bain (bass) and Simon Wright (drums).

CD and LP track listing:

01. Killing The Dragon
02. Along Comes A Spider
03. Scream
04. Better In The Dark
05. Rock and Roll
06. Push
07. Guilty
08. Throw Away Children
09. Before The Fall
10. Cold Feet

"Master Of The Moon"

Originally released in 2004, "Master Of The Moon" was the final studio album under the DIO band name and featured the lineup of Ronnie James Dio (vocals),Craig Goldy (guitar),Jeff Pilson (bass) and Simon Wright (drums).

Disc 1 and LP track listing:

01. One More For The Road
02. Master Of The Moon
03. The End Of The World
04. Shivers
05. The Man Who Would Be King
06. The Eyes
07. Living The Lie
08. I Am
09. Death By Love
10. In Dreams

"Dio: Dreamers Never Die", the first-ever, career-spanning documentary on the life and times of the late legendary metal icon Ronnie James Dio, will be released worldwide by Mercury Studios on DVD and Blu-ray+4K and as a special deluxe edition featuring the DVD and Blu-ray packaged with exclusive merchandise on September 29, 2023. All of these configurations of the film will include a 20-minute selection of deleted and extended scenes restored from the cutting room floor to create a special fan experience.

The limited deluxe edition will be packaged in a two-piece lift-off lid box containing both the DVD and Blu-Ray versions of the film plus branded DIO merchandise that will include logoed trading cards, guitar picks, lapel pin, coasters and a fold out poster from the film.

Additionally, fans will be able to purchase the film along with bundles of exclusive "Dreamers Never Die" merchandise, including a limited-edition screen print movie poster, "Dreamers Never Die" t-shirts, hoodies, trucker hats and beanies, etched beer stein, mousepad, tote bag, replica of "Dio Way" street sign, and word magnet set as well as a raglan shirt and dome pin celebrating Dio's first band, ELF.

"Dio: Dreamers Never Die", which world premiered at the 2022 SXSW Film Festival in Austin, Texas, enjoyed a special event theatrical release in more than 600 cinemas worldwide last fall and is available on Showtime.

Ronnie James Dio passed away of stomach cancer on May 16, 2010 at the age of 67.

Dio was renowned throughout the world as one of the greatest and most influential vocalists in heavy metal history. The singer, who was recording and touring with BLACK SABBATH offshoot HEAVEN & HELL prior to his illness, was diagnosed with stomach cancer in late 2009. He underwent chemotherapy and made what is now his final public appearance in April 2010 at the Revolver Golden Gods Awards in Los Angeles.

Dio's autobiography, titled "Rainbow In The Dark: The Autobiography", was released in July 2021 via Permuted Press.

Find more on Dio
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).