FU MANCHU To Release 'Gigantoid' In April

March 27, 2014

Southern California hard rock mainstays FU MANCHU will release their new album, "Gigantoid", on April 29 via the band's own At The Dojo Records.

After almost 25 years together, and following last year's Scion A/V Club split seven-inch single with friends MOAB and 2009's "Signs Of Infinite Power", Scott Hill and company return with their first full-length album in close to five years. Recorded with Andrew Giacumakis, singer/guitarist for the aforementioned MOAB at his studio in Simi Valley, California, the album features a slightly more primitive, raw and ultra fuzzed-out sound than previous releases.

"We wrote 17 new songs for this record and got our favorite 9 songs out of that together," says Hill. "We were planning on releasing a 'part 2' record later this year but have plans for some of the other songs to appear in early 2015 to line up with our upcoming 25-year anniversary."

In addition to the new release, the band has announced a month-long North American tour, taking the band to both coasts, and throughout the majority of the country (as well as into select cities in Canada).

"Gigantoid" track listing:

01. Dimension Shifter
02. Invaders On My Back
03. Anxiety Reducer
04. Radio Source Sagittarius
05. Mutant
06. No Warning
07. Evolution Machine
08. Triplanetary
09. The Last Question

The song "Anxiety Reducer" can be streamed using the SoundCloud widget below (courtesy of BrooklynVegan.com).

Writing for the album began in the summer of 2012, with a break for a tour of Europe in the fall of that year and a U.S. tour in the spring of 2013, reissuing and playing "The Action Is Go" LP in its entirety and an appearance at METALLICA's Orion Music + More festival in June 2013. FU MANCHU soon found itself with enough material for two albums.

A hint of what the new songs will sound like was released in October in the form of "Robotic Invasion", a split seven-inch single with MOAB, presented by Scion.

Slower, longer and heavier than most of the recent material the band has released, the new songs find FU MANCHU exploring different time changes and heavy sonics that the band is known for, with some atmospheric and conceptual lyrics and artwork that will hopefully be tying one, if not two, new records together that the band hopes will be released this year.

FU MANCHU's first full-length, "No One Rides For Free", has been reissued on At The Dojo as a gatefold vinyl. The record celebrates its 20th anniversary this year.


Find more on Fu manchu
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).