JACK RUSSELL And TRACII GUNS Announce Collaborative Album 'Medusa'

November 14, 2023

RUSSELL / GUNS marks the beginning of a fresh artistic partnership between two legendary figures of Los Angeles hard rock: Jack Russell and Tracii Guns, accompanied by Johnny Martin, Shane Fitzgibbon and Alexandro Del Vecchio.

The pair have announced an upcoming new studio album, "Medusa", to be released January 12, 2024 via Frontiers Music Srl. To kick off the announcement is the first single "Next In Line", which showcases Jack's stellar vocals and Tracii's always-clear and catchy riffs and is the first shot at showing just what a powerhouse RUSSELL / GUNS is to contemporary hard rock.

Commenting on the partnership, Guns said: "Jack is one of the greatest rock voices of our generation. It's a total honor to play guitar on this record."

For Russell, this project represents a long-awaited return to recording and new music, coming seven years after the release of "He Saw It Comin'" with JACK RUSSELL'S GREAT WHITE. Instead of dwelling on the past and attempting to recreate the storied origins of the multi-platinum hard rock entity, Jack is excited to be moving forward and collaborating with none other than Guns, an artist experiencing a creative resurgence of his own.

On "Medusa", Jack and Tracii have discovered a common thread in a collection of songs that draw from the bluesy power and heavy energy of their most celebrated material and roots, yet infused with a fresh, energetic drive and modern metallic production.

About the album, Jack had this to say: "It was so great making a record with Tracii! Initially, I had my reservations about making this record, but in the end it kicks ass. I'll play with Tracii anytime!"

"Medusa" is an album that showcases inspired artistic integrity and commitment to rock'n'roll from two extraordinary rock stars of the '80s and '90s.

"Medusa" track listing:

01. Next In Line
02. Tell Me Why
03. Coming Down
04. Where I Belong
05. For You
06. Give Me The Night
07. Living A Lie
08. In And Out Of Love
09. Medusa
10. Back Into Your Arms Again
11. I Want You

In 1984, Russell burst on to the scene as the frontman for GREAT WHITE, a prominent presence in the Los Angeles music scene. The band's self-titled debut, along with platinum-selling albums like 1987's "Once Bitten..." and 1989's "...Twice Shy", sold over eight million copies worldwide. Their rock legacy continued into the 21st century, and in 2011, Russell went on to form JACK RUSSELL'S GREAT WHITE.

Guns is a legend in his own right. He founded L.A. GUNS in 1983, which later merged with another group called HOLLYWOOD ROSE, laying the foundation for one of the true giants of rock: GUNS N' ROSES. After departing the band and reuniting with former GIRL lead vocalist Phil Lewis to reform L.A. GUNS, he signed with Vertigo Records and released 14 studio albums with the band. He also ventured into various side projects, including CONTRABAND (with Michael Schenker and others),SUNBOMB (with Michael Sweet of STRYPER),and more recently BLACKBIRD ANGELS with Todd Kerns (of SLASH FEATURING MYLES KENNEDY & THE CONSPIRATORS).

Find more on Great white
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).