JOURNEY's JONATHAN CAIN Releases New Faith-Inspired Solo Album 'Arise'

May 27, 2022

Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductee and JOURNEY bandmember Jonathan Cain has just released his new solo album, "Arise", via Identity Records with The Fuel Music distribution. Resonating with joy and a profound sense of God's power and grace, the recording offers a wake-up call to the church and is this iconic artist's sixth faith-inspired full-length project since 2016.

Mixing brand new songs with tracks from his acclaimed "Oh Lord Lead Us" EP, including the American Songwriter-, The 700 Club-featured title track that became his biggest solo hit to date, "Arise" is a call for the church's collective voices to be heard.

"Like faith in action, the music of 'Arise' moves to the spirit of revival. God is making his presence felt here on earth, and it's up to us to wake up, to feel it, feel the revival and just dig in," encourages Cain, who leads worship at City Of Destiny Church in Apopka, Florida, where his wife, Paula White-Cain, is pastor. "I hope that this music stirs up and awakens people in a way that they can become a part of what God is doing."

Encouraging this participation is "Arise"'s anthemic lead track, "Roar". "Release the roar, in your praise. Release the sound, call His name. Use your voice, let it out. Silence the enemy, shout it loud," belts Cain amidst an uplifting chorus of voices.

"We need to put roar in our praise. We better stand up for our faith," says Cain. "As Christians, we must not sit by and say, 'Well, politics and religion don't matter.' They surely do. There are a lot of people that just let status quo be, and I'm not one of them…The enemy is at our front door trying to destroy this church. We are soldiers. We wear the armor of God, so be victorious. Stand in the gap with the Holy Spirit and band together."

Inspired by the feast of Pentecost, which is celebrated by Christians June 5 this year and marks the gift of the Holy Spirit promised by Jesus and described in Acts 2, Cain penned "Upper Room" for the new album.

"I think it's such an important feast," says Cain, adding, "For the apostles to win 3,000 souls to Jesus that day as nations from around the known world were in Jerusalem, it is almost as extraordinary as the resurrection. And so I thought, 'This is really crucial for our faith. That's a cornerstone thing.' I try to write about the cornerstones. What do we build faith on?"

Come meet our God in the upper room
Come feel a sound like the driving wind
Tongues of fire fill the upper room
Holy Spirit fill our hearts within

(From "Upper Room" chorus)

Cain, a Chicago native, has spent decades pouring out his musical gifts in front of huge audiences, but when not touring, he can be found serving his home church and has never been more fulfilled than in his role as worship leader.

"Worship is 'What do you have for me?' God wants to know what you're bringing," he says. "A lot of times people come to worship thinking that they're going to get something out of this when really, it's the exact opposite. You need to lay it down at the altar for God. That's what worship is."

Produced by Cain, mixed by David Kalmusky (Justin Bieber, THE FRAY, Keith Urban),mastered by Grammy Award-winning Adam Ayan (Paul McCartney, Carrie Underwood, FOO FIGHTERS),"Arise" was recorded at Cain's state-of-the-art Addiction Sound Studios in Nashville with select parts done remotely.

"Arise" track listing:

01. Roar
02. Beautiful Thunder
03. Arise
04. Oh Lord Lead Us
05. Upper Room
06. Something Greater
07. No One But You Jesus
08. Pour Myself Out
09. Worship Our Way
10. Pray To The Father
11. Freedom In Your Grace

Along with his solo music, Cain wrote and recorded new music with his band JOURNEY, which will release its first album of all new songs in over a decade, "Freedom", on July 8.

Find more on Journey
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).