MAYHEM To Release New Live Album, 'Daemonic Rites', In September

July 21, 2023

Norwegian black metal pioneers MAYHEM will release a live album, "Daemonic Rites", on September 15 via Century Media Records. The record is a comprehensive look at the legendary band's chaotic and intense performances from various cities around the world over the last two years. The album promises to be a thrilling sonic journey for fans and a testament to MAYHEM's unparalleled live prowess.

In conjunction with the upcoming release, MAYHEM has unveiled a first look with a performance video of the first single "Malum (Live 2022)". Filmed during the band's March 2022 concert in New York City in collaboration with renowned director Zev Deans, the clip encapsulates the intensity and ferocity that MAYHEM brings to the stage. The video is set to premiere today at 12:00 p.m. EDT // 9:00 a.m. PDT.

MAYHEM's Necrobutcher comments: "We wanted to document how great the band and set sounds like after almost 40 years of playing live. As a treat to our fans, we decided to release this live recording.

"I knew from day one back in 1984 that this band was going to be outstanding — one of the best bands ever! I guess that's a big reason why we still are here after 39 years — and counting."

"Daemonic Rites" marks the culmination of the "Daemon" era, which commenced in 2019 with the release of their critically acclaimed studio album "Daemon". The journey continued with the savage EP "Atavistic Black Disorder" in 2021, leaving audiences hungry for more. This latest live conglomeration serves as the ultimate chapter-closer for this landmark.

Track listing:

01. Intro
02. Falsified And Hated
03. To Daimonion
04. Malum
05. Bad Blood
06. My Death
07. Symbols Of Bloodswords
08. Voces Ab Alta
09. Freezing Moon
10. Pagan Fears
11. Life Eternal
12. Buried By Time And Dust
13. Silvester Anfang
14. Deathcrush
15. Chainsaw Gutsfuck
16. Carnage
17. Pure Fucking Armageddon

For fans who are hungry for the real thing, fret not. MAYHEM will hit the road later this year with CANNIBAL CORPSE, GORGUTS and BLOOD INCANTATION. The extensive trek will kick off on September 22 in Nashville, Tennessee and will draw the final curtain a month later on October 21 in Louisville, Kentucky.

With a reputation built on their unyielding commitment to the darkness, MAYHEM has become a revered name in the world of extreme metal. As a band that defies expectations and pushes the boundaries of the genre, their live performances are known for leaving audiences breathless and in awe.

MAYHEM is thrilled to share this live opus with their dedicated fans, who have stood by them throughout their tumultuous and illustrious career. "Daemonic Rites" is not only a celebration of the past but also a declaration of the band's continued relevance and power in the present-day metal landscape.


Necrobutcher - Bass
Hellhammer - Drums
Attila - Vocals
Teloch - Guitar
Ghul - Guitar

Photo by Vincent Grundke (courtesy of Suspiria PR)

Find more on Mayhem
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).