METAL CHURCH Guitarist KURDT VANDERHOOF's HALL AFLAME Releases Music Video For 'Ripcord'

May 14, 2024

HALL AFLAME, the rock band led by METAL CHURCH founding guitarist Kurdt Vanderhoof, released its sophomore album, "Amplifire", on May 3 via Rat Pak Records. The official music video for the LP's third single, "Ripcord", can be seen below. The clip was filmed, produced and edited by Rick Moyer in Aberdeen, Washington, with input from HALL AFLAME, filmed in Shelton, Washington at Skydive Kapowsin.

Originally formed in 1989, HALL AFLAME garnered commercial success with its debut LP, "Guaranteed Forever", which was well received by fans and industry peers alike and quickly found themselves opening for ZZ TOP on their 1991 "Recycler" tour for a number of dates. As with many bands from that era, facing a decline in interest for AOR rock due to the onslaught of the "grunge" scene, the band went on a lengthy hiatus and reunited again in late 2023 to begin working on a handful of songs.

"Amplifire" offers 12 new studio tracks and reunites Kurdt with original bassist Brian Smith, along with drummer Bill Raymond and frontman Scott Nutter.

Vanderhoof comments: "This album came about as a project to document all the songs that we had written for the second album that never came to be. We revisited the songs and realized they had to be recorded properly. Then it blossomed into something much better than we had even hoped! So that led us into reforming the band instead of just having it be a project."

Smith adds: "I think anyone that is a fan of 'Guaranteed Forever' will see this record as a new and improved 'Part II' of HALL AFLAME. Great songs, great production and we had a ton of fun putting this together!"

Nutter says: "A good hard rock album should lift you, make you want to sing along and rock out! That's what this album does for me!"

From the driving album opener "Helltown" to the powerhouse outro track "Keeping Them All Away", HALL AFLAME shines with its signature brand of rock and roll. Tracks like "Ripcord", "In The Same Gutter", "It Ain't Enough" and "Gunnin'" are filled with memorable hooks and melodies, while songs like "Pullin Me Apart" and "1974" showcase their unique, classic rock songwriting abilities. With influences that range from BAD COMPANY to THIN LIZZY, "Amplifire" is best described as the perfect blend of classic rock with a modern-day edge.

Track listing:

01. Helltown
02. Ripcord
03. 1974
04. This Ain't Love
05. The Same Gutter
06. It Ain't Enough
07. Gunnin'
08. Pullin' Me Apart
09. Long Way Down
10. Keeping Them All Away
11. Cowboy (bonus track) (CD and digital)
12. Paradise On Ice (bonus track) (CD and digital)

Find more on Metal church
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).