NILE's KARL SANDERS To Release 'Saurian Apocalypse' Solo Album In July

May 25, 2022

NILE mastermind and multi-instrumentalist Karl Sanders has announced that the subterranean slumber of his Eastern-ambient Saurian series has finally ceased with the impending release of its dark third chapter, "Saurian Apocalypse", out July 22 via Napalm Records. This segment of the hypnotizing saga arrives 13 years after the release of its predecessor, 2009's "Saurian Exorcisms", and nearly 20 after 2004's equally lauded "Saurian Meditation".

Emphasized by unique instruments like the baglama saz (Turkish lute),Ancient Egyptian Anubis Sistrum, Dumbek (Middle Eastern goblet drum),glissentar and gongs, the album's score weaves cinematic auras and deep grooves, accented by the tribal percussive stylings of original NILE drummer Pete Hammoura and returning "Saurian" vocalist Mike Breazeale. A wealth of musical growth and refinement, both in Sanders's guitar technique and compositional development, is strikingly evident. Eons more than just an album of interludes or ambient scores, "Saurian Apocalypse" is a shining advancement in the "Saurian" series, and the most dynamic, detailed Karl Sanders solo release yet.

Feast your ears on the forthcoming "Saurian Apocalypse" by way of its haunting first single, "The Sun Has Set On The Age Of Man", out today. Accompanied by an entrancing animated music video, the track instantly showcases the unique instrumentation, sparkling production, and ominous conceptual themes of the album — echoing with vibrating flutes, exotic percussion, and a contextual acoustic guest solo by guest guitar virtuoso Rusty Cooley.

Sanders says about "The Sun Has Set On The Age Of Man": "'The Sun Has Set On The Age Of Man' is a great choice for people's first exposure to this album. It's the opening track of the new 'Saurian' record, very cinematic and an eerie mood setter. Much like the score of an opening scene of a sci-fi movie, the song serves as an introduction for the many twisted journeys of the album that follows. It uncannily evokes that feeling we all get right after the sun has gone down and night is upon us, conjuring an awareness of the ancient, evolutionary dread of the unknown dark and its terrors that have been imprinted on the human psyche since early prehistoric man first realized that there were things in the night that would prey upon him. The track is also very special to me as it features two dear longtime friends of mine, original NILE drummer Pete Hammoura on percussion, and legendary guitar shredder Rusty Cooley on guest acoustic solos. Although Rusty certainly is a prolific electric guitar shredder, this track marks his debut on acoustic guitar. Thank you, Pete and Rusty!"

"Saurian Apocalypse" track listing:

01. The Sun Has Set On The Age Of Man
02. The Disembodied Yet Slither Among Us
03. The Evil Inherent In Us All
04. Skull Fuck Ritual (Skull Breach Edition)
05. Nada Zaag
06. An Altered Saurian Theta State
07. Nihil Emplexus
08. Divergence: The Long Awaited Third Primordial Ascension
09. Mask Of Immutable Self Delusion
10. No Creature More Deserving Of Cataclysmic Annihilation

Photo credit: Nill Silver

Find more on Nile
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).