Original SLIPKNOT And MUSHROOMHEAD Singers Guest On New Single From KAOSIS

August 8, 2023

Anders Colsefni and Jeffrey Nothing, the original singers from SLIPKNOT and MUSHROOMHEAD, respectively, are the featured guests on "Breaking The Fallen", the new single from the New Zealand act KAOSIS.

"Breaking The Fallen" is a progressive nu-metal track that features Anders delivering gut-wrenching gutturals and an empowering spoken-word bridge section while Nothing delivers a soaring call-and-response chorus with his trademark melodic aggression. The two fierce voices complement and contrast, together creating a deeply visceral and unnerving experience.

The seed of this particular musical collaboration was conceived back in 2014 for the MUSHROOMHEAD release "The Righteous And The Butterfly". However, due to scheduling issues the feature never happened.

Anders said: "Jeff and I looked at doing this years ago, but it was Xen and the KAOSIS mob that made it all possible. Jeff is a great vocalist and it was awesome to finally work with him."

The video for "Breaking The Fallen" draws its inspiration from 1980s cyberpunk classics and was shot entirely on greenscreen during the COVID-19 pandemic. Xen, the band's singer and director is a huge "Robocop" fan and he brought this passion for the film to the video.

When asked what the song is about, Xen said: "'Breaking The Fallen' is about perseverance through trauma to become a stronger and more resilient human."

"Breaking The Fallen" also features turntables by DJ Storm who is most recognized for his work with Eminem, PUBLIC ENEMY and Ice-T. Storm adds an aggressive layer of golden-era scratching to the soundscape.

"Breaking The Fallen" is a feature single from KAOSIS's upcoming sophomore record, "We Are The Future". The effort features Jeremiah Stratton (AMERICAN HEAD CHARGE, (HED) P.E.) on drums and Peredur Ap Gwynedd (PENDULUM) on guitar.

KAOSIS also worked with some hugely influential studio personnel on "We Are The Future". The amp engineering was handled by Logan Mader (ex-MACHINE HEAD, SOULFLY),who has previously worked with FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH, GOJIRA and FEAR FACTORY. The cinematic samples were produced by the world-renowned Boom Library team members of Sebastian Johnson ("Dark Knight", "Godzilla", "Pacific Rim" and "Prometheus") and Michael Schwendler ("Mortal Kombat X" and "Elder Scrolls").

"We Are The Future" was mastered by Howie Weinberg who has 21 Grammy Awards to his name and has mastered the biggest names in metal and rock, including NIRVANA's "Nevermind", DEFTONES' "White Pony", METALLICA's "Master Of Puppets", SLAYER's "Reign In Blood", PANTERA's "Cowboys From Hell" and LIMP BIZKIT's "Significant Other".

"Breaking The Fallen" is available on all platforms courtesy of Blood Blast Records.

Colefsni and Reavis will team up with KAOSIS for the Australasian "Numetal Mayhem" tour in October. Colsefni will perform SLIPKNOT's independently released debut effort "Mate. Feed. Kill. Repeat." in full on the trek.

Tour dates:

Oct. 11 - Sydney, Australia @ Crowbar
Oct. 12 - Adelaide, Australia @ Enigma Bar
Oct. 13 - Melbourne, Australia @ Bendigo Hotel
Oct. 14 - Brisbane, Australia @ Mansfield Tavern
Oct. 15 - Goldcoast, Australia @ Mo's Desert Clubhouse
Oct. 16 - Toowoomba, Australia @ Irish Club Hotel
Oct. 18 - Auckland, New Zealand @ Neck Of The Woods
Oct. 19 - Taranaki, New Zealand @ 8 Bar Pool And Darts
Oct. 20 - Wellington, New Zealand @ Valhalla
Oct. 21 - Christchurch, New Zealand @ The Embankment
Oct. 22 - Queenstown, New Zealand @ Yonder
Oct. 23 - Dunedin, New Zealand @ Dive

Colsefni, bassist Paul Gray, drummer Joey Jordison and percussionist Shawn "Clown" Crahan first performed under the name SLIPKNOT in April 1996 at the Safari Club in Des Moines. Not long after, Mick Thomson and Craig Jones joined the band and the trajectory of modern metal was changed forever.

Find more on Slipknot
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).