SAVATAGE: 'Still The Orchestra Plays: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 & 2' Due In March

January 7, 2010

earMUSIC/Edel Records has set a March 2 European release date for "Still The Orchestra Plays: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 & 2", the official anthology from the legendary U.S. metal act SAVATAGE. The collection contains remastered classics plus three new, previously unreleased acoustic recordings. The limited edition of the anthology comes with the complete "Japan Live" show from 1994, which appears here for the first time on DVD.

"Still The Orchestra Plays" will be followed by the re-release of SAVATAGE's complete catalog — remastered and featuring bonus tracks as well as newly recorded audio commentary.

"Still The Orchestra Plays: Greatest Hits Vol. 1 & 2" track listing:

CD1: Greatest Hits Vol.1:

01. Power Of The Night
02. Hall Of The Mountain King
03. 24 Hours Ago
04. Legions
05. Gutter Ballet
06. Summers Rain
07. When The Crowds Are Gone
08. Ghost In The Ruins
09. If I Go Away
10. NYC Don't Mean Nothing
11. Edge Of Thorns
12. All That I Bleed

CD2: Greatest Hits Vol.2:

01. Handful Of Rain
02. Chance
03. One Child
04. I Am
05. Anymore
06. Hourglass
07. The Wake Of Magellan
08. Morphine Child

Bonus tracks (recorded by Jon Oliva in 2009):

09. Anymore (acoustic)
10. Not What You See (acoustic)
11. Out On The Streets (acoustic)

DVD - "Japan Live 94":

01. Taunting Cobras
02. Edge Of Thorns
03. Chance
04. Conversation Piece
05. Nothing Going On
06. He Carves His Stone
07. Jesus Saves
08. Watching You Fall
09. Castles Burning
10. All That I Bleed
11. Stare Into The Sun
12. Damien
13. Handful Of Rain
14. Sirens
15. Gutter Ballet
16. Hall Of The Mountain King

Producer/composer Paul O'Neill, who co-founded TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA with SAVATAGE mastermind Jon Oliva, told that he and Oliva are working on a Broadway musical called "Gutter Ballet" (also the name of the second record O'Neill did with SAVATAGE) that they hope to get to the stage in the next two years. It's the culmination of a work that O'Neill began in the 1970s. Many of the songs have already had rock versions recorded by SAVATAGE, but will return to their roots for the Broadway show.

"We want to take it back to the original blues, gospel, Motown sound," he said. "For SAVATAGE, you've got to metal it up. Jon and I are kind of psyched to be doing it because Broadway is something we've always wanted to take on."

According to O'Neill, there are also some SAVATAGE projects in the offering, including a possible new album.

Read the entire article from

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email