SCOTT WEILAND's Debut Solo Album, '12 Bar Blues', To Be Reissued With Previously Unreleased Tracks

March 31, 2023

Scott Weiland's solo debut, "12 Bar Blues", marks its 25th anniversary today, and Rhino is celebrating by remastering and expanding the acclaimed album for two upcoming releases.

On Record Store Day, the album will make its vinyl debut as a limited edition two-LP set. "12 Bar Blues" will be limited to 7,500 copies on 180-gram translucent blue and green vinyl and available exclusively at select independent music retailers on April 22 for $34.98. The set includes the original album with newly remastered audio along with three previously unreleased recordings: an acoustic version of "Barbarella" and session outtakes "Lazy Divey" and "Chateau Mars". The latter two tracks appeared on the original promotional version of the album sent out by Atlantic Records, but were cut from the commercial release.

On May 12, a deluxe version of "12 Bar Blues" with even more previously unreleased music will be available digitally. It features the newly remastered original album, the previously unreleased tracks from the vinyl release, plus five more previously unreleased recordings. The demo version of "Barbarella" from the digital deluxe version is available online today. The original music video for "Barbarella" has also been newly upgraded to 4K.

Best-known as the singer with the Grammy-winning bands STONE TEMPLE PILOTS and VELVET REVOLVER, Weiland took listeners on a sonic roller coaster ride in 1998 with "12 Bar Blues", his adventurous solo debut on Atlantic Records.

Weiland co-produced the album with Blair Lamb and played many instruments on the record, including guitar, bass, keyboards, drum loops, and more. He also was responsible for the album's design concept, which is an homage to "Blue Train", the 1958 album by legendary jazz saxophonist John Coltrane.

Victor Indrizzo, Zander Schloss and Jeff Nolan from the MAGNIFICENT BASTARDS (a group Weiland started in 1995) are featured throughout the record. In addition, several artists made guest appearances on "12 Bar Blues", including multi-Grammy winner Sheryl Crow playing accordion on "Lady, Your Roof Brings Me Down" and jazz pianist Brad Mehldau on "Divider" and "Mockingbird Girl". Renowned musician/producer Daniel Lanois plays on "Desperation #5" and "Barbarella", and also mixed several songs on the original album. A trio of his unreleased mixes — including one for "Cool Kiss" — will make their debut on "12 Bar Blues (Deluxe Edition)" along with the demos for "Desperation #5" and the aforementioned "Barbarella".

"12 Bar Blues" 2-LP track listing (available April 22):

Side One

01. Desperation #5
02. Barbarella
03. About Nothing
04. Where's The Man

Side Two

01. Divider
02. Cool Kids
03. The Date
04. Son

Side Three

01. Jimmy Was A Stimulator
02. Lady, Your Roof Brings Me Down
03. Mockingbird Girl
04. Opposite Octave Reaction

Side Four

01. Barbarella – Acoustic Version *
02. Lazy Divey *
03. Chateau Mars *

"12 Bar Blues (Deluxe Edition)" track listing (available Digitally May 12)

01. Desperation #5
02. Barbarella
03. About Nothing
04. Where's The Man
05. Divider
06. Cool Kids
07. The Date
08. Son
09. Jimmy Was A Stimulator
10. Lady, Your Roof Brings Me Down
11. Mockingbird Girl
12. Opposite Octave Reaction
13. Barbarella (Acoustic Version) *
14. Lazy Divey *
15. Chateau Mars *
16. Barbarella (Daniel Lanois Mix) *
17. Cool Kiss (Daniel Lanois Mix) *
18. Lady Your Roof Brings Me Down (Daniel Lanois Mix) *
19. Barbarella (Demo Version) *
20. Desperation #5 (Demo Version) *

* previously unreleased

Find more on Stone temple pilots
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).