THE MAN-EATING TREE Films New Video, Announces European Tour With TAROT

August 6, 2010

THE MAN-EATING TREE — the new atmospheric metal band featuring former SENTENCED drummer Vesa Ranta alongside current/former members of POISONBLACK, REFLEXION and EMBRAZE — recently filmed a video for the song "Out Of The Wind".

Check out photos from the video shoot at this location.

In other news, THE MAN-EATING TREE will tour Europe in October and November with their fellow Finns TAROT.

Commented THE MAN-EATING TREE vocalist Tuomas Tuominen: "It is no rocket science; this is music. It is simple elements pieced together with sincerity.

"I have to say we were on fire about how the atmosphere of our first shows in Finland turned out. Now we are pleased to announce that we are going to deliver our stuff also to continental Europe!

"The upcoming tour holds 14 shows together with legendary TAROT. Can't wait to meet you there."

"Out Of The Wind" comes off THE MAN-EATING TREE's debut album, "Vine", which will be released in Finland on September 22 via Cobra Records and in other territories through Century Media Records. The CD was recorded at Mastervox Studio in Oulu, Finland with producer Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, SENTENCED, AMORPHIS).

"Vine" track listing:

01. Lathing A New Man
02. The White Plateau
03. This Longitude Of Sleep
04. King Of July
05. Of Birth For Passing
06. Out Of The Wind
07. Nights In White Satin
08. Tide Shift
09. Instead Of Sand And Stone
10. Amended

Check out the cover artwork below.

"Out Of The Wind" recently entered the official single chart in the group's home country at position No. 3.

According to the group's official bio, THE MAN-EATING TREE was formed when "Vesa Ranta, having taken a break from music after SENTENCED, began to overcome his post-SENTENCED battle fatigue and lack of musical motivation. The idea of a new band — or bands — was eventually brainstormed over a period of time between Vesa and his friends, including gentlemen Miika Tenkula, Aaron Rantonen, Janne Markus and Mikko Uusimaa. Plans were made reality in 2009; the outfit was completed by the addition of Tuomas Tuominen as a vocalist and Heidi Määttä as a keyboard player. First demo recordings were made in the spring and summer of 2009.

"The bulk of compositions are the origin of Janne Markus, with some contribution also from Aaron Rantonen. Much of the lyrical input is contributed by Tuomas Tuominen. These are the building blocks of the music, which is finally arranged hands-on at the band house by the entire group."


Tuomas Tuominen (ex-FALL OF THE LEAFE) - Vocals
Janne Markus (POISONBLACK) - Guitar
Mikko Uusimaa (REFLEXION) - Bass
Heidi Määttä (ex-EMBRAZE) - Keyboards
Vesa Ranta (ex-SENTENCED) - Drums

For more information, visit

(Thanks: fireangel / Night Elves)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email