VENOMOUS CONCEPT Feat. NAPALM DEATH And Ex-BRUTAL TRUTH Members: 'The Good Ship Lollipop' Album Announced

November 18, 2022

VENOMOUS CONCEPT — the punk band formed by NAPALM DEATH's Shane Embury and former BRUTAL TRUTH vocalist Kevin Sharp — will return with its most expansive, boundary-obliterating album to date, "The Good Ship Lollipop", on February 24 via Decibel Records. The effort finds Sharp and Embury joined by NAPALM DEATH guitarist John Cooke alongside Carl Stokes, former drummer of U.K. death metal legends CANCER.

The anthemic first single from "The Good Ship Lollipop", a song called "Voices", can be heard below.

VENOMOUS CONCEPT's fifth full-length will receive an exclusive North American vinyl and cassette release through Decibel Records. Engineered by Piers Mortimer (DEEP PURPLE) and produced by longtime friend and soundman Simon Efemey (PARADISE LOST, AMORPHIS),the LP was challengingly recorded during the height of the pandemic in 2020.

"It was an amazing fun and creative experience, recording while there were COVID restrictions," Embury offers. "We seem to only now dimly recall the whole process but this record lives it and breathes it...When the pandemic hit, we decided we needed to make an album that didn't fit. We all loved so much other kind of punk and rock, so why not explore that which is, in essence, closer to our hearts? To do the same album over and over again would be boring."

"When Decibel released the DEADGUY live record ['Buyer's Remorse'] this year, my gears turned," says Sharp. "Having supported the band in print and via flexi disc, we were stoked to see [Decibel editor] Albert's [Mudrian] interest in this VC record. It's a different kind record and deserves a different kind of approach. The music industry is in constant evolution and this approach to getting our music out seems like a good fit amongst old friends on our terms."

"The Good Ship Lollipop" track listing:

01. The Good Ship Lollipop
02. Timeline
03. Slack Jaw
04. Pig
05. Clinical
06. Fractured
07. Voices
08. So Sick
09. Flowers Bloom
10. The Humble Crow
11. Can’t Lose
12. Everything is Endlessness
13. Life’s Winter


Shane Embury - bass
Kevin Sharp - vocals
John Cooke - guitars
Carl Stokes - drums

Find more on Venomous concept
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).