Transcending Obscurity
rating icon 9 / 10

Track listing:

01. The Law Of Everything
02. At The Giant's Feet
03. The Seventh Seal
04. Inquisition Reborn
05. Blindly They Follow
06. A World Of Destruction
07. Misantropi Och Förakt
08. Breathe In The Flames
09. The Age Of Death
10. Oh Fire Of Hate
11. In Decay They Shall All Fester
12. Divine Pain
13. The Dead And The Dying
14. Departure From The Light
15. Scorned Existence
16. On A Path Of Repulsion

It may only be those who sleep with an HM-2 pedal under their pillow who noticed, but WOMBBATH delivered one of the all-time great comeback records with "Downfall Rising" in 2015. A mere six years later, the Swedish death metal veterans are delivering their fifth post-return full-length, and it is by far the most ambitious and adventurous record to ever bear the band's name. Given that they released two albums in 2020 ("Choirs of the Fallen" and "Tales of Madness"),it seems that WOMBBATH have hit a rich vein of inspiration and are now going for broke, both in terms of quality and quantity. That rare beast, the death metal double album, "Agma" is no old-school nostalgia-fest, instead, this is what happens when a classic sound gets a giant, eyeball-dislodging kick up the arse.

If it's unabashed ENTOMBED and DISMEMBER worship you want, then this may not be the record to sate your appetites. WOMBBATH certainly owe a huge debt to that seminal sound, and there is never any doubt that we are listening to punky and vicious Swedish death metal throughout these 73 destructive minutes. But the sheer versatility and variety on display here is genuinely breathtaking, as every song seems to represent another subtly skewed take on that cherished formula, with unexpected but always apposite curveballs raining down from all angles. "Agma" sounds considerably heavier and sharper than any previous WOMBBATH record, too. From the rampaging opening seconds of "The Law Of Everything" onwards, the authoritative weight behind these songs is obvious. Frontman Jonny Pettersson (also a member of MASSACRE, BERZERKER LEGION and countless other ongoing projects) has one of those archetypal, leathery death metal growls that always cuts through the noise, and founder/guitarist Håkan Stuvemark's riffing is truly inventive; his songwriting chops, increasingly imperious.

There are 16 songs here, and not a weakling among them. On a first, increasingly breathless deep dive, obvious standouts include "At The Giant's Feet", which manages to be equally snotty and technically dazzling, and "The Age Of Death", which weaves progressive textures and swathes of twilit macabre through WOMBBATH's hulking battery. But this is an album that delivers many powerful moments and demands repeat listens, all while nobly adhering to a none-more-true death metal ethos. From the sinister, death doom machinations of "In Decay They Shall All Fester" to the skull-caving D-beats and blackened discord of "Inquisition Reborn", this is a remarkable show of strength from a band with vastly more to say and do than the majority of their peers. Releasing it on New Year's Eve is a slightly bizarre move, but music this great will even cut through a Christmas hangover.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).