As The Morning Dawns We Close Our Eyes

rating icon 9 / 10

Track listing:

1. Carefully Breathing
2. Of Your Light
3. In Winter
4. Splendour Unnoticed
5. As The Morning Dawns We Close Our Eyes
6. Hearts Closed
7. Melancholia
8. Last Night I Believed in You

The genre tag blackgaze is not quite as high profile as it was a few years ago when DEAFHEAVEN were at their peak. The amount of practitioners of the sound, which marries black metal elements with gorgeous shoegaze atmospherics, remains vast though, and while the pathways to larger acceptance remain a bit tightened in the wake of its more well-known acts keeping a lower profile recently, the overall aesthetic remains vibrant thanks to acts such as AN AUTUMN FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN. The Dutch trio has managed to keep an aura of mystery around their membership since the release of their 2010 full-length debut, "Lost", and the lack of concerts since the spring of 2020 didn't affect them as they have yet to perform live. Despite that relatively low-profile existence, the band has continued to refine their sound up to and including their latest, and ninth, album, "As The Morning Dawns We Close Our Eyes".

Their fairly well-defined sound is a hypnotic mix of wintry discordant sounds and beautifully melodic guitars and keyboards. Each album has had minor tweaks, but as time has passed, AN AUTUMN FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN has inched their way closer to embodying the platonic ideal of the blackgaze sound. "As The Morning Dawns We Close Our Eyes" is the culmination of those steps forward, as the trio's a well-oiled machine with a veteran presence.

The album launches straight into "Carefully Breathing"'s melody. The song's a galloping mid-tempo rocker that is lifted by a balance of warm guitar riffs and caustic screams from band leader Mchl and a phalanx of hypnotic sci-fi keyboards from him, bassist Td, and drummer Chr, who juggle those duties alongside their other instrumentation. The track shows how expertly the group walks the tightrope of generating a sound that is "spacey" without falling into space-rock and coloring within the lines of their chosen genre. This trend continues into "Of Your Light", which on the surface initially appears to be the closest analogue to a DEAFHEAVEN song on the record, though as it continues the layers of keyboards and Td's warm bass lines cause the track to transform into its own dreamy beast. "In Winter" shows off the trio's mastery of escalation, starting off with a hypnotic drumbeat and lulling keyboards which eventually see the rest of the song fill out, combining those elements into a big crescendo. The remainder of the record follows the path established early on, encompassing the balance between emotional beauty, big riffs and keyboards, and tortured screams, with other highlights peppered within such as Chr's frenetic drumming performance on "Splendour Unnoticed".

The chemistry of the trio behind AN AUTUMN FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN is undeniable at this stage as is their mastery of the "blackgaze" sound. Should the day come that they choose to show off their wares in a live concert setting, their ability to balance entrancing beauty with a metallic sound that is fit for a large room will serve them well.

Author: Jason Roche
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).