rating icon 6 / 10

Track listing:

01. March to the Glory
02. War of the Worlds
03. New World Machine
04. Astronomica
05. Edge of Forever
06. Touch the Sun
07. Lucifer's Hammer
08. The Other Side of Midnight
09. Cyber-Christ
10. Cydonia

Yet another in the long line of recently reunited '80s metal bands, CRIMSON GLORY have obviously responded to the increasing popularity of traditional heavy metal on the European continent by regrouping in an attempt to rekindle some of their former magic. The quintet's first album with vocalist Wade Black (who sounds like a younger David Wayne),Astronomica is a relatively enjoyable release that musically touches upon some of the more memorable moments on the band's classic first two albums, with the group's trademark guitar harmonies making a much-welcome return appearance following their more subdued presence on the band's disappointingly LED ZEPPELIN-esque Strange and Beautiful release (1992). As before, the material spans a lot of different moods and emotions, from the high-energy stomp of "War of the Worlds" to the mellow, "power-ballad" vibe of "Edge of Forever", all of which showcase Black's impressive range, even if he tends to sound irritatingly thin when he hits the high notes (which he does frequently). At the end of the day, however, the absence of singer Midnight (who is said to be working on a solo project) and the lack of any material that could compete with the likes of "Lady of Winter", "In Dark Places" and "Lonely" off the group's monumental Transcendence release prevent this album from being anything more than a mere reminder of how good CRIMSON GLORY once were.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).