Avatar Country

Entertainment One
rating icon 7 / 10

Track listing:

01. Glory To Our King
02. Legend of The King
03. The King Welcomes You To Avatar Country
04. King's Harvest
05. The King Wants You
06. The King Speaks
07. A Statue of The King
08. King After King
09. Silent Songs of The King Pt. 1 - Winter Comes When The King Dreams Of Snow
10. Silent Songs of The King Pt. 2 - The King's Palace

There are endless examples of metal artists taking themselves far too seriously. AVATAR is not one of those bands. The Gothenburg-based band's intentionally and ridiculously over-the-top brand of heavy metal continues to run through its latest, and seventh overall, full-length release: "Avatar Country". Sonically, the Swedish group has streamlined its already accessible heavy metal crunch into something that has the potential to reach into pop cultural consciousness. True to its flamboyant nature and the release's title, AVATAR unravels a theme placing the band as the centerpiece of a land and people. The group wastes no time in highlighting this playful theme as it dives right in with "Glory To Our King", the “national anthem" of the domain within this tale.

Dramatic, charging metal immediately follows with "Legend of The King", bursting forth with DRAGONFORCE-esque soloing in a contemporary take on power metal. The track is eight minutes long, and it's fortunately diverse and interesting enough not to feel that way. AVATAR's musical fortitude is clearly evident with the very next song as well: "The King Welcomes You To Avatar Country". The song is up-beat modern pop-country that is no more inauthentic than the bulk of what that genre offers nowadays anyway, and it is infectious in spite of how nerdy it is. Then again, very little seems odd in a world—or, ahem, country—that this band would call home. The clap-along chorus is as catchy as it is goofy, and Johannes Eckerström flexes his pipes alike AC/DC's Brian Johnson at times standing in stark contrast from his soaring Warrel Dane-like delivery on the previous track. And that's before the aggressive nu metal styling of "King's Harvest" showcases his inner Corey Taylor marching in tandem with a fist-clenching riff that very well could have been pulled from a SLIPKNOT album.

AVATAR's career has blossomed as its allowed its adventurous spirit to wander. The unit is a far cry from the unremarkable melodic death metal band it initially was. Needless to say, AVATAR is no longer afraid of hopping, skipping and jumping in and out of musical styles. It doesn't do so within individual songs, instead, the group explores different kinds of music in disparate songs remaining relatively true to form to each style.

A concept album from a band known for its circus themed performances makes perfect sense. There's clearly a tongue-in-cheek aspect to the outlandish theatricality, yet AVATAR's version of what could have been a grandiose concept is as sophisticated as a five-year-old child's messy crayon drawing. The "Kings Speech", for instance, is an interlude of sorts during which a narrator translates the king's musings on such profound matters as his enema and constipation. In spite of this, however, the music is much more enjoyable than the embarrassing narrative.

"Avatar Country" isn't as heavy as the act's previous efforts; it's more well-rounded and diverse. Simultaneously, AVATAR has become more efficient in making its points musically. The album's accessible aspects, including the more prominent melodies and hooks, suggest obvious potential for rock radio airplay. Only time will tell the extent to which the group will grow in terms of commercial success.

Author: Jay H. Gorania
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).