Blood and Popcorn

rating icon 6.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Twice The Hate, Twice The Carnage!
02. Feral Mutant Attack
03. Halloween (The Night HE Came Home)
04. What's In The Basket
05. Choppingmall

"Blood and Popcorn", by Holland's FONDLECORPSE, is a pretty definitive representation of what Razorback is all about: B-movie horror themes (and samples),lots of blood and guts, and a thrashy death metal approach. The five-song EP does not reach the magnificence of some of the label's staple acts (BLOOD FREAK, GHOUL, etc),but it is a relatively worthwhile release all the same. Let's face it, the label does not release bad albums, just the rare one that is a little too derivative and/or lacking some level of distinction, as is the case with this one. Still, you would be hard pressed to find a truly sub par album on the label's roster and "Blood and Popcorn" is no exception.

The natural sound mix, one that allows the bass guitar plenty of room to bubble and rumble, sounds great, while the songs are rooted in meat-and-potatoes, old-school based death metal. Nothing here raises the death metal bar, yet the group usually gets the job done. The thrashy, driving groove of "Halloween (The Night HE Came Home)" is the prime example of a tune that will get you moshing in no time flat. The only real problem is that not every track is as quite as good as that one, meaning that the songs do not also stand out as well as they should. As for the artwork, you know the deal; it is always a highlight of virtually any album released by Razorback.

"Blood and Popcorn" is not an essential release, but most bands of the Razorback style will find a good deal to like here. Sometimes a solid, pummeling approach is all that even the discerning death metal fan needs. Still, better songwriting would have helped. Check out a couple of MP3s before you make your purchase decision.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).