Chaos & Colour

Silver Lining
rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Save Me Tonight
02. Silver Sunlight
03. Hail the Sunrise
04. Age of Changes*
05. Hurricane
06. One Nation, One Sun
07. Golden Light
08. You'll Never Be Alone
09. Fly Like An Eagle
10. Freedom to Be Free
11. Closer to Your Dreams*
12. Save Me Tonight (Demo)**

* CD and digital only
** Deluxe CD only

With more than 50 years together as a band, URIAH HEEP certainly know how to make a rock record. The longstanding English rock band are riding high on the release of their latest album, "Chaos & Colour", which marks their 25th studio album.

URIAH HEEP started working on "Chaos & Colour" during the pandemic, when the world was shut down and music was confined to Zoom jams and remote recording sessions. Inspired by this bizarre and chaotic period, Mick Box and company channeled their frustration into an album of classic rock songs, complete with complex harmonies and the band's trademark keyboards.

Recording sessions for "Chaos & Colour" took place at London 's Chapel Studios during the summer of 2021, when restrictions were lifted. Once again, the band found themselves working with producer Jay Ruston, a staple in the rock and metal world who has worked with the likes of ANTHRAX and COREY TAYLOR.

"Chaos & Colour" opens with "Save Me Tonight", an all-out rock jam, bursting with thick guitars and lots of rhythmic swagger. Lyrically, the song, which is a collaboration with Jeff Scott Solo, is about the frustration of living through the pandemic and surviving mentally and emotionally the past several years. "Silver Sunlight" follows, bringing a dark and strong guitar groove. Lead vocalist Bernie Shaw sounds incredibly powerful here, with vocals that cut right through the heavy instrumental backings.

From there, songs such as "Hail the Sunrise" and "Age of Changes" continue, offering the keyboard-heavy approach for which URIAH HEEP are known. Sweet, smooth harmonies also abound here, offering a very melodic collection of songs.

For those who love their rock, well, classic, "Hurricane" is a high point of the album. The track has a driving guitar riff and radio-friendly approach that makes it sound like it could have been a No. 1 hit in the 1980s. "Chaos & Colour" takes a step back with "One Nation, One Sun", a piano-based power ballad with Shaw pondering about the spirit of redemption and finding a unified purpose in this life. "Fly Like an Eagle" is a hard rock number with teeth and grind, offering psychedelic keys and almost ALICE IN CHAINS-esque dissonant harmonies. "Closer to Your Dreams" closes out the set, bringing an upbeat, head-bopping hard rock number that leaves the listener wanting more.

On "Chaos & Colour", URIAH HEEP don't reinvent the wheel, but they do perhaps perfect it, churning out a timeless collection of 11 hard rock songs that perfectly fit the band's character and brand. "Chaos & Colour" simply demands respect, as it harkens back to the band's greatness of yesteryear and pulls them forward triumphantly to today.

Author: Anne Erickson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).