Eternity of Shaog

I, Voidhanger
rating icon 9 / 10

Track listing:

1.  Orthal
2.  Exh-Enî Söph (1st Passage: Exiled from Sanity)
3.  Thritônh (2nd Passage: The Colour of Death)
4.  Aylowenn Aela (3rd Passage: The Undying Citadel)
5.  Shtg (4th Passage: Frozen Soul)
6.  Amenthlys (5th Passage: Through the Yth-Whtu Seal)
7.  Shayr-Thàs (6th Passage: Walk the Oracular Way)
8.  Namhera (7th Passage: Blasphemy of Ephereàs)
9.  Eternity of Shaog (∞th Passage: Grave of Agony)
10.  Monotony of a Putrid Life in the Eternal Nothingness

Italy's I, Voidhanger Records has established itself as a haven for compelling black metal generated by one-man projects, each with their own unique voice. The label has carved out a strong niche by finding these musicians, seemingly out of nowhere, as evidenced by two of 2019's strongest black metal releases, MIDNIGHT ODYSSEY's "Biolume Part 1 – Tartarean Chains" and AN ISOLATED MIND's "Losing Myself". The former blended ambient beauty with black metal chaos, and the latter explored the more depressive side of the genre. There is another artist though that sets the label's benchmark for unsettling black metal mysticism.

ESOCTRILIHUM is the product of prolific French mastermind musician Asthâghul. His latest record, "Eternity Of Shaog", is his fifth record since 2017. For those who are new to this metallic entity, the opening track begins in a deceptively straightforward manner, while still showing glimmers of the whirlwind to be generated throughout the record. A hard-driving riff lurking underneath a hypnotic industrial-metal drum bash is the main driver of "Orthal", while Asthâghul emits sinister goblin-like vocal grunts. Tasteful moments of acoustic guitars are layered in underneath the cacophony, but only briefly before a moshpit-worthy set of stomp-riffs help lead a segue from brown note-level rumbling synths to shredding guitar histrionics.

The hallucinogenic side of Asthâghul's compositions really begin to come to the forefront on "Exh-Enî Söph (1st Passage: Exiled from Sanity)". Discordant violin strings underscore a large chunk of the track, though the crunch of a great metallic guitar riff never gets sacrificed and remains prominent. Asthâghul's vocals become a bit more frantic, and here he showcases a strong production flair for layering those vocals and the disparate musical elements so that the overall sound remains sinister without becoming an overwrought mess. That tightrope walk is a precarious line that has felled many musicians with similar artistic ambitions, but this track is the first of many on "Eternity Of Shaog" where Asthâghul proves to masterfully keep the chaos coherent.

"Thritônh (2nd Passage: The Colour of Death)" continues the trend of Asthâghul's vocal howls and growls becoming more tortured, while upping the ante with bigger bursts of black metal bombast, bludgeoning drums and what seems to be the sounds of actual bomb blasts. Violins lurking underneath become more and more off-kilter, adding to the aura of disorientation. "Aylowenn Aela (3rd Passage: The Undying Citadel)" is perhaps the most musically unsettling track on the record. The violins that have been building throughout the record finally take over as the main musical force, sounding even more bent and ugly than the more traditional black metal instrumentation that becomes the secondary source of sound. A small respite from the musical lunacy comes with a beautiful piano-driven interlude on "Shtg (4th Passage: Frozen Soul)", before the uncomfortable musical maelstrom begins again and plays out for the remainder of the record.

ESOCTRILIHUM has repeatedly proven, in a relatively short time, to be a masterful exercise in juggling musical chaos with carefully crafted coherence. "Eternity Of Shaog" is another ominous musical masterpiece showing that there are still plenty of dark corners to be fruitfully explored within the black metal realm.

Author: Jason Roche
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).