Hiding From The World

rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Plunder Of Thoughts
02. Hiding From The World
03. My Temple Of Pride
04. Face In The Crowd
05. Born Without A Heart
06. Scavengers Await
07. Soon To Be
08. Forgotten

Well-respected in prog metal circles but largely under the mainstream radar, despite tenures on a couple of big labels, COMMUNIC have been one of Norway's best-kept secrets for a long time. As with the band's previous five albums, "Hiding From The World" sits squarely in that sweet spot between old-school prog metal and something darker and nastier, with guitar tones that crush and epic heavy metal overtones that occasionally edge towards doom. In truth, COMMUNIC are almost prog by default: these are bombastic, heavy metal songs at heart, and the band's inventiveness manifests itself primarily in lengthy song structures, rather than anything more groundbreaking. But the truth is that they do this stuff so well that every last riff, refrain and masterful detour oozes imperious authority. Meanwhile, frontman Oddleif Stendland's voice packs the same kind of authoritative punch that made Warrel Dane such a revered figure.

Of course, the reality is that COMMUNIC may still be preaching predominantly to the converted, regardless of how much the prog world has grown over the last decade. From the sledgehammer pomp of opener "Plunder Of Thoughts" until the ornate, glowering grandeur of the closing "Forgotten", the Norwegians' sixth full-length simply raises the bar for thunderous, dark-hued prog metal. It's still startling that COMMUNIC are a trio: the nine-minute title track is grandiose and devastating, with a level of heaviness that three people really shouldn't be able to make without cosmetic help. That it also boasts soaring melodies that will lodge in your skull for days, is testament to how much the band have matured over the years. "My Temple Of Pride" is equally stunning: darkly introspective, but dramatic and theatrical, it's like some sublime hybrid of NEVERMORE and METAL CHURCH, but sinewy with state-of-the-art sonics. In contrast, "Face In The Crowd" kicks off as a good, old-fashioned tooth-rattler, old-school metal riffs jabbing and stabbing from all directions and bursts of thrash-like intensity backing up Stendland's mighty vocal contributions. Most startling of all, "Born Without A Heart" could be the mother of all prog metal power ballads, or at least ten of the most absurdly stirring minutes of heavy music you'll hear this year. With seamless tempo shifts and the kind of intuitive groove that only a symbiotic power trio can generate, it's an object lesson in power harnessed and used for the greater musical good, with faint echoes of MAIDEN and MANOWAR providing an added frisson of authenticity. Once again, Stendland's vocal is astonishing.

After that, "Scavengers Await" maintains the brooding atmosphere, veering deftly from machine-gun battery to doomy crawl, before the majestic finale of "Forgotten" —
another monolithic but elegant ten-minute epic, rich with mortal regret and ripe with gothic menace — slams home the brilliance of COMMUNIC's latest burst of creativity.

For those who worship at the altar of prog metal, "Hiding From The World" will simply be the latest (and arguably greatest) COMMUNIC album. For those who have yet to have the pleasure, a sumptuous feast awaits.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).