Meanwhile, Back in the Garage

Frontiers Music Srl
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Meanwhile, Back in the Garage
02. The Hotel
03. Livin' in Suspicion
04. Incest Outcest U.S.A.
05. Long Island Tea
06. The House
07. Sea of Trees
08. Man On the Corner
09. We Don't Need Another Hero
10. America...Where Have You Gone
11. Heading Toward the Light
12. Past Lives
13. The Crying Chair
14. Starcarr Lane (Live from Daryl's House NY 2018)

Now in his seventh decade, Graham Bonnet has enjoyed a modest second coming of late. The famed ALCATRAZZ, RAINBOW, MSG and IMPELLITTERI vocalist has been cropping up everywhere in retrospectives and reissues, plus a career-resurrecting run with the Michael Schenker Fest. With his self-branded band, Graham Bonnet engineers an exciting rebirth of sorts, surrounding himself with a monster set of players in the form of Kurt James (guitars),Beth-Ami Heavenstone (bass),Jimmy Waldo (keys) and Mark Benquechea (drums). Lead and rhythm guitarist Joey Tafolla provides stellar session support.

Depending on whether you have a devoted or casual attitude toward Graham Bonnet, the frequent heaviness of this album may be a complete surprise. The fact "Meanwhile, Back in the Garage" culls from Bonnet's past habitats should be no surprise, but it all works far more than it doesn't. There's a lot of muscle flexing here, and not just from Bonnet's wringing esophagus.

The title track is an Yngwie Malmsteen-esque power number (the scheme repeated later in the album on "America...Where Have You Gone") with Joey Tafolla and Jimmy Waldo spooling notes in abundance. Waldo's organs create a buzzing backdrop for Graham Bonnet, who waits until the final third to grizzle up after flowing along smoother than expected in a number this loud. Bonnet colorfully describes the scene for the intensely performed tour narrative "The Hotel", inclusive of a "drunk guy pissing in somebody's doorway."

Somewhere between "Dangerous Games" era ALCATRAZZ and Bonnet's time in RAINBOW does "Livin' in Suspicion" lie, which does have a hook, if less urgency outside of Kurt James's blistering guitar solo. Then take the same coupling for the pumping retro pop rocker "Incest Outcest U.S.A."

Bonnet goes into snarling rock god mode set to the whiz-bang drives of "Long Island Tea", "Past Lives" and "Man On the Corner". Some other stout numbers are the galloping "Sea of Trees" and the ticklish LED ZEPPELIN-meets David Lee Roth ditty "Heading Toward the Light", the latter being one of Graham Bonnet's most savory performances on the album. Saved for the end, "The Crying Chair" is appropriately his most gut-wrenching.

A not-bad cover of Tina Turner's Mad Max ode, "We Don't Need Another Hero" gives Bonnet the opportunity to coddle his inner popster, and he has a blast with it. "Meanwhile, Back in the Garage" comes with an accompanying DVD featuring Graham Bonnet's appearance on "Live at Daryl's House", but the bigger story is the album itself. A lot of high-octane energy and some of the most ear-pleasing tones Bonnet has pulled from himself—ridiculously impressive at age 70—makes "Meanwhile, Back in the Garage" something of a sleeper hit. Hope springs eternal, 'nuff said.

Author: Ray Van Horn, Jr.
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).