Misery Made Me

rating icon 9 / 10

Track listing:

1. Our Song
2. Die Alone (Feat. Andrew Neufeld)
3. Ultraviolet
4. Cold Blood (Feat. Trevor Daniel)
5. It's Over
6. The Altar / Mary
7. Slow Motion (Feat. Mike Hranica)
8. Don't Wait Up
9. Bankrupt
10. Live Like This (Feat. nothing,nowhere.)
11. Misery

Ten albums into their trailblazing career, SILVERSTEIN have nothing left to prove. Still, the screamo champions continue to demonstrate their inspiring ability to fine tune and evolve with the times. While in many ways "Misery Made Me" is but a continuation of 2020's "A Beautiful Place To Drown", the new record also embodies the Canadian outfit's eagerness to try new things. This release puts forward a sense of adventure and fun that few other bands in their second decade possess.

As if their previous record left any doubt, this album reaffirms that SILVERSTEIN is one of the most adept bands in their scene at writing supremely catchy, pop-influenced hooks. It's not just the album's singles "It's Over" and "Ultraviolet"; "Don't Wait Up", "Our Song", the entire album is effectively infectious.

Many bands this far into their career would just leave it at that. After all, how many fans have been disappointed by groups who just abandon their heavier roots altogether? Yet as they have perfected their melodic refrains, SILVERSTEIN have also doubled down on their metalcore leanings, inviting heavyweights like Andrew Neufeld (COMEBACK KID) and Mike Hranica (THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA) to pitch in. Moshers rejoice: "Die Alone" is the heaviest track they've released to date.

"The Altar / Mary" kicks off just as hard before moving seamlessly into a smooth, slow pop beat, after which the two different approaches fuse together for a new hybrid breed of heavy. After screaming, "Somebody has to die!" to end the breakdown, the song takes on a contemplative, electronic vibe. It's on this song that we see SILVERSTEIN venture out into the unknown, kindling exciting notions about what the future of metalcore may have in store. On the other hand, the final acoustic track, "Misery", doesn't offer anything new, but it's still a nice, simple ballad.

What makes SILVERSTEIN so successful is their ability to marry refined melodies with adrenaline-pumping aggression. These aspects are never separate; they overlap naturally. With "Misery Made Me", the band push their boundaries a little bit more, while still relying on tried-and-true songwriting methods from previous releases.

Author: Taylor Markarian
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).