Old Star

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. I Muffle Your Inner Choir
02. The Hardship of the Scots
03. Old Star
04. Alp Man
05. Duke of Gloat
06. The Key is Inside the Wall

The progression of extreme metal legends DARKTHRONE from black metal genre pioneer to ambassadors of pure heavy metal expression has been fun to experience. While some of their contemporaries continue to put out competent-yet-watered-down rehashes of works that defined the genre and others self-destructed under the weight of their own psychological excesses, Fenriz and Nocturno Culto quietly continue to get together every few years, plug in, and crank out musical statements awash with heavy metal revelry that cement their status as masters of the genre, aging gracefully.

There are no diatribes on the state of the extreme metal scene. There are no overly verbose manifestos decrying the lack of danger in modern heavy metal. There are no self-aggrandizing ego trips bordering on oblivious self-parody. Devin Townsend screamed that "The time has come to forget all the bullshit and rock!" in the chorus of "Liberation", the opening track of his 2012 record, "Epicloud". That's exactly what happens when a new DARKTHRONE record comes out in the modern era of the band, and the duo's latest record, "Old Star", continues that mission.

Their latest barrage hits the ground running with album opener, "I Muffle Your Inner Choir". The riffs come immediately – there are no mood-setting intros to be found here — and lock into a consistent and catchy fast-paced thrash for most of the next six minutes, with Fenriz's drums beating down with a mechanical torrent and a warm snap. Nocturno Culto's vocal rasps and work on bass and guitars reinforce the duo's modern vibe as a black metal-infused take on MOTÖRHEAD. "The Hardship of the Scots" and the title track are mid-tempo rockers with scuzzy blackened edges. Nocturno Culto's most discordant guitar solos are found on this stretch of the record, with the title track especially having some aurally ominous builds throughout its length to match his snarling vocal performance.

"Alp Man" is a stomper full of more ominous riffs that one could easily picture Thomas Gabriel Fischer delivering his epic grunts over, but what follows is the most overtly black metal sequence of the record. The first half of "Duke of Gloat" is a speed-propelled ripper that takes a turn into a moodier set of metallic indulgences, with another harsh squealing guitar solo underpinning the second half. The album culminates with "The Key is Inside the Wall", a closing call which initially starts out as a slow-paced crawler. This serves as a fake-out though. Quickly the track becomes the most purely metallic rocker of the record, before spending the final moments of the album veering back-and-forth between that fist-pumping rally and a slow stomp that would surely result in a very bloody mosh-pit should DARKTHRONE ever endeavor to perform live again.

Fenriz remains a vocal champion of pure heavy metal expression. It's only natural that instead of revisiting and recycling the group's previous genre-defining high points new DARKTHRONE material instead celebrates all that is great about heavy metal in a tightly wrapped presentation that is one hundred percent metal, zero percent bullshit. "Old Star" continues the band's streak of avoiding the external histrionics surrounding modern extreme metal, allowing for pure immersion in the power of the riff.

Author: Jason Roche
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).