Pictures from the Hotel Apocalypse

rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Emergency and Me
02. Lactating Teens
03. Young America
04. Insider Lines
05. Match on Action
06. Binary Heart Attack
07. Quid Pro Quo Motherfucker
08. The Neon Wilderness
09. Invocation
10. Photographer Ex Post Facto

The bizarre, disturbing pictures of a bloody and desperate hotel room scene in the CD booklet; song titles like "Lactating Teens" and "Quid Pro Quo Motherfucker" that belie the deep lyrical tirades; arrangements that fuse order with chaos, this is "Pictures from the Hotel Apocalypse". And it is quintessential SINCE BY MAN.

Even compared to "We Sing the Body Electric", the new album takes patience and time and reflection to sink in for it to make its full impact. You do not skip to a favorite track; you either play the disc in its entirety or you don't; the end payoff does possess a degree of lasting appeal. The "dance" factor (for lack of a better term) present on parts of "A Love Hate Relationship" is heard only on the periphery of songs like "Young America". Add hand claps to the freak-out rhythms of the tune and you'd almost be there, albeit in a herky-jerky dance kind of way. With the discordant riffs, the minor chords, and the off-kilter rhythms, tracks like "Emergency and Me" begin to reveal certain memorable qualities, as does "Match on Action". Female vocals courtesy of guest player Ashley Chapman, including the harmony lines on the seven-minute "Photographer Ex Post Facto" or the call-and-response sections on "Quid Pro Quo Motherfucker" are more examples of the band's willingness to layer its sound. Programmed electronic elements (i.e. "Binary Heart Attack") return on "Pictures from the Hotel Apocalypse" as well.

Through it all, vocalist Sam Macon leads a full frontal hardcore-fueled assault that is made even more challenging by the dueling guitars of Brad Clifford and Kevin Herwig (pay attention to what these two are playing on the album). While there is no definable downside, and even with the qualities that continue to grow on me, it is still one that I have difficulty returning to for additional listens, the only reason it's not an 8 to my ears. That said, I'd not be surprised to see higher ratings given by other reviewers.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).