rating icon 5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Come Back Alive
02. Godless
03. Apes of God
04. More of The Same
05. Urge
06. Corrupted
07. As It Is
08. Mind War
09. Leech
10. The Rift
11. Bottomed Out
12. Activist
13. Outro

From the opening strains of "Come Back Alive" to the closing outro, "Roorback" is conclusive proof that SEPULTURA have lost a lot of their fire. The band's ninth studio album is a disappointingly large step backward from 2001's "Nation", which found singer Derrick Green meshing smoothly with the band to create an effective and, at times, even great album ("Sepulnation" is probably the group's best Green-era tune, in fact). But this time out, too many half-baked or repetitious ideas render "Roorback" sadly uninspiring and not a good sign for the band's musical future.

Ironically, Green himself sounds better than ever before on his third effort with SEPULTURA since replacing founding frontman Max Cavalera. His roar is powerful and full-bodied, and he is comfortable enough now in the lineup to try a broad range of vocal styles, throwing a little reggae influence into the mix at one point ("Urge") and attempting a more soulful style on the unusual, prog-sounding "Bottomed Out". Of course, SEPULTURA is legendary for knitting many different musical styles into their music, but this time out, instead of creating a seamless whole, the mix-and-match style often fails, leading to songs that feel incomplete.

When the band is simply pouring on the straight metal, things don't necessarily take a huge jump upward in quality. Songs like "Apes Of God" and "Leech", two of the album's best tunes, start out with strong riffs but fail to sustain memorable hooks, while "More Of The Same" and "Urge" are examples of the slow-paced, syncopated, aimless songs that have permeated the band's post-Max catalog with increasing frequency. All this is presented through a punchless Steve Evetts production that keeps things clean and clear, but strangely mutes the band's still-formidable instrumental power.

"Roorback" isn't a total loss, if only for the reliable and solid talent of the players involved. "Come Back Alive" kicks the album off in strong SEPULTURA style, spinning from a mid-paced groove to lightning speed in a half-second, while the aforementioned "Leech" captures the fury of vintage SEPS. Too frequently, however, the songs turn into meandering jams ("Godless") that don't lead to a big payoff.

With SOULFLY's most recent album, "3", meeting with an indifferent response in the States, and SEPULTURA themselves struggling to even land a U.S. record deal for the last year, neither act seems to be finding new followers nor inspiring their base of hardcore devotees (although SOULFLY has clearly fared better). And in truth, neither act's musical output — SOULFLY's excellent debut aside — has given fans much to cheer about either. After eighteen years, have Brazil's biggest rock exports started to run out of ideas, or have they simply been unable to recreate the chemistry of the glory days of albums like "Chaos AD" and "Roots"? "Roorback" doesn't provide any clearcut answers.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).