The Ides Of March

rating icon 7 / 10

Track listing:

01. Get Along
02. A Thousand Words
03. In Stride
04. The Ides of March
05. Wake Me When It's Over
06. Love Rain Down
07. Tell It Like It Is
08. Moonshot
09. Wanderlust Begins
10. Sifting Through The Fire
11. Worried Mind

While still conquering all with both ALTER BRIDGE and SLASH, Myles Kennedy is steadily establishing his identity as a solo artist. Plainly one of the most significant voices in modern (hard-ish) rock, the Boston-born singer was never likely to veer off on some eccentric, experimental tangent, but there is more than enough clear blue water between his more high-profile hits and the songs on "The Ides Of March". In contrast with 2018's "Year of the Tiger", Kennedy's second solo record dares to inhabit hard rock territory, albeit with a strong blues influence and shiny, radio-rock vibes that certainly wouldn't fly in his day job(s).

It starts with a flurry of absurdly catchy tunes. Despite its corny sentiment ("Why can't we all just get along?"),"Get Along" is irresistibly upbeat and energized, with guitars to the forefront and Kennedy audibly snake hipped and hyped up. "A Thousand Words" and "In Stride" repeat the trick with bright, snappy and soulful arrangements that intermittently touch on something heavier, but with that soaring voice joyously pinning everything to the ceiling. In contrast, the title track is a rather ponderous and po-faced blues rock sprawl, with faintly Zep-like textures interspersed with an overtly overwrought chorus. Admittedly, Myles Kennedy can sell bombast better than most, and his vocal talents nearly rescue the whole thing from a tsunami of earnestness. "Wake Me When It's Over" is much better: a propulsive, summery singalong, with glorious vocal harmonies and a generous dose of Southern rock twang.

Blues rears its aged head again on "Love Rain Down" which, in the best possible way, sounds like something David Coverdale might have recorded in the '90s, but without the leering innuendos. Its languorous gait, twinkling acoustic guitars and melancholy atmosphere are this album's most exquisite backdrop for Kennedy's voice, and suggests that a deeper plunge into Americana's murky depths would suit him perfectly. Elsewhere, "Tell It Like It Is" is a slightly throwaway chunk of lurching country rock; "Moonshot" is a loping, swampy blues ballad with another giant chorus; and "Sifting Through The Fire" tips its hat to Tom Petty and will sound perfect blasting out of a convertible's car radio at the height of summer. With that in mind, the closing "Worried Mind" feels like an unnecessary switch back to slow-coach blues and lacks the melodic incisiveness of earlier, like-minded efforts. The wonderfully breezy and hopeful "Wanderlust Begins" would have been a far more effective parting shot.

A much more diverse and dynamic affair than his solo debut, "The Ides Of March" will thrill the faithful and ensure that the Kennedy's star remains firmly in the ascendant.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).