The Legacy

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Fear Detector
02. Metal Never Dies
03. Wilder Life
04. Pandemonium
05. One Heart One Soul
06. Make the Move
07. What a Hell of a Night
08. Pain
09. Decadent
10. Falling Angels
11. Metal Machine
12. Steelhammer
13. Dust and Rust
14. I Give as Good as I Get
15. Rock 'n' Roll Soldiers
16. Dominator
17. Mastercutor
18. Vendetta
19. 24/7
20. Blind Eyes
21. Man and Machine
22. Like a Lion
23. Shout It Out
24. Holy
25. Freelance Man
26. Independence Day
27. Metal Eater
28. Future Land
29. Blitz of Lightning
30. We're History
31. Break the Rules
32. Go Back to Hell
33. They Want War

All things considered, there aren't too many things that are more metal than Udo Dirkschneider. Never mind that the German legend sang his guts out on those ageless and seminal ACCEPT classics back in the early '80s, for the U.D.O. catalogue alone, he deserves some kind of award for consistency and dedication to the cause. "The Legacy" is a bold attempt to encapsulate the band's avowedly pure strain of heavy metal, with tracks taken from every one of their 17 studio albums, and a handful of rare cuts thrown in to ensure that diehard fans will have a reason to get involved too.

Udo's voice — a deceptively versatile rasp that has gotten nastier over the years, while never losing power — remains the key to it all. It is the sound of metal itself, scraping against the grain. Whether he's screeching like a madman on "Metal Never Dies" or conjuring multiple, ghostly voices on the symphonic blast of "Pandemonium", he has always sounded militantly committed to breaking necks and rocking the living shit out of anyone and everyone.

Udo has always assembled killer bands around him, and thus the quality of the material on this ample retrospective rarely drops. Early songs like "Mean Machine" and "Go Back to Hell" were heavier than the trad metal norm back in the '80s, and they still pack a surprising punch for music of that vintage. More recent material like "Decadent", "Make the Move" and the skull-rattling speed metal of "Steelhammer" are utterly unapologetic in their gleaming metal purity. Historically in between, the likes of the strutting "Shout It Out" and the epic, electro-throbbing "Independence Day" suggest that Udo weathered the '90s better than most.

The rare tracks live up to the hype. "Wilder Life" is a snotty hard rocker with some neat vocal harmonies; "What a Hell Of a Night" is all razor riffs, spiraling melodic hooks and party-starting bravado; "Fallen Angels" is a strident, doom-driven horror story; "Dust and Rust" is a chunk of pure '80s (and maybe even '90s) metal perfection. None of them quite match up to "Metal Eater"'s high-speed madness, which I strongly recommend you don't listen to while driving or operating machinery, but there are remarkably few clunkers on this 33-track, 151-minute celebration. Play it loud, Udo demands it.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).