The Poison

rating icon 6 / 10

Track listing:

01. Intro
02. Her Voice Resides
03. 4 Words (To Choke Upon)
04. Tears Don't Fall
05. Suffocating Under Words of Sorrow (What Can I Do)
06. Hit the Floor
07. All These Things I Hate (Revolve Around Me)
08. Room 409
09. The Poison
10. 10 Years Today
11. Cries in Vain
12. Spit You Out
13. The End

Well, this is a first, receiving a promotional CD in a red heart-shaped box, that is. That and a Valentine's Day release date can only mean one thing, right? It's the new full-length album by Welsh metalcore outfit BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE. Phrases like "the next big thing" have been waved around more than a gold Pittsburgh Steelers towel in Detroit during Super Bowl weekend. "The Poison" has all the trappings of a made-for-MTV breakout hit. I'll gladly acknowledge the hardy riffage and Swede-infused twin-guitar fire of guitarist/vocalist Matt Tuck and guitarist Padge, made deliciously crisp and crunchy by Colin Richardson's expert production. The axe work can be vicious at times. As for the album as a whole, there is some good and some not so good.

After the aptly titled instrumental "Intro" (featuring the cellos of APOCALYPTICA),the album follows with several "hey, it's predictable, but pretty rocking" moments. I rather enjoyed the tough, harmonic-peppered, licks of "4 Words (To Choke Upon)", regardless of the fact that I've heard the mix of clean and shout vocals on the chorus many times before. "Her Voice Resides" is an infectious rocker too. The standard IN FLAMES guitar harmonies and meaty riffing is present throughout, the best of which is heard on "Suffocation Under Words of Sorrow (What Can I Do)". Though the light/emotional verse that builds to a tough gallop and ultimately a pedestrian clean chorus on "Tears Don't Fall" is expected, the twin lead work, thrashy romps, galloping tempos, and a hot solo launch the track out of mediocrity.

By the time the album's second half rolls around the material becomes a little too predictable (or maybe I just get tired of it),as evidenced by the middling fare of "10 Years Today", "Cries in Vain", and "Spit You Out". Incorporating some "whhhoooooaaa" harmonizing in "Hit the Floor" (with production and mixing assistance from Andy Sneap) and "Room 409" is a nice idea, but ends up only marginally distinguished. The mellow acoustic verse and heavy melodic chorus of "All These Things I Hate (Revolve Around Me)" is a throwaway that will probably score the band a hit. An overly long album-closer called "The End" features a mellow/melancholy lightness that builds to heavier territory, calms back down, and builds again. The break for a little up-tempo chug and guitar harmonizing is moderately effective, but hardly awe-inspiring. In short, it's a forgettable seven minutes.

BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE is fairly good at what it does and at least half of the songs are better than average. There is just something about the disc that feels contrived; in a genre that's been run into the ground, that can be problematic. The one certainty is that "The Poison" will go over a storm with the poor huddled (Hot Topic) masses.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).