The Rise Of Brutality / Supremacy

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

The Rise of Brutality
01. Tear It Down
02. Straight To Your Face
03. Facing What Consumes You
04. Live For This
05. Doomsayer
06. Another Day, Another Vendetta
07. A Lesson Lived Is A Lesson Learned
08. Beholder of Justice
09. This In Now
10. Voice of Contention
11. Choose Or Be Chosen
12. Confide In No One
13. Bound To Violence (bonus track)

01. Defeatist
02. Horrors Of Self
03. Mind Over All
04. To The Threshold
05. Give Wings To My Triumph
06. Destroy Everything
07. Divine Judgment
08. Immortal Enemies
09. The Most Truth
10. Never Let It Die
11. Spitting Venom
12. As Diehard As They Come
13. Supremacy of Self
14. Pollution Of The Soul (bonus track)

Jamey Jasta continues to be as ubiquitous as ever. The longtime host of MTV's Headbanger's Ball and current podcaster has most recently made waves with his revitalization of the revered Milwaukee Metal Fest. But Jasta is, of course, best known for being the iconic frontman of HATEBREED. The Connecticut metallic hardcore band's classic albums "The Rise of Brutality" and "Supremacy", originally released in 2003 and 2006, respectively, are presented here in a 27-track double-disk CD package. This re-release serves as an introduction to a defining, early period of one of hardcore's leading lights, and it reminds those well familiar with HATEBREED about how they set the tone for so much that has followed since.

The crossover legends made a name for themselves within the Northeastern hardcore community in the late nineties because of their maniacal shows, the splits with INTEGRITY and NEGLECT, and most notably with the absolutely savage 1996 EP "Under the Knife" and the 1997 debut full-length "Satisfaction Is the Death of Desire" that led to tours with top-tier metal bands like SLAYER, NAPALM DEATH, DEFTONES and ENTOMBED. The steamrolling momentum was solidified with their 2002 breakout album "Perseverance" which saw them become one of the world's premiere aggressive bands. The massive and very metal influenced production values of that album set the stage for the vast majority of what has followed. This of course threads directly through both "The Rise of Brutality" and "Supremacy".

"The Rise Of Brutality" quite literally opens up where its predecessor "Perseverance" left off: That previous album's outro bleeds into the intro for song one, "Tear It Down". The cutthroat, crushing riff is recycled and given new life on an album that's ultimately just as brutal and well written as "Perseverance". "The Rise Of Brutality" remains one of the unit's best albums because of standout cuts like "Live For This" and "This Is Now" which marry mantra-like choruses with uplifting messages that have inspired throngs of metal and hardcore fans. "Doomsayer", track 5, is one of HATEBREED 's most bombastic tracks, riding high with its driving, pseudo-SLAYER riff.

"Supremacy" is almost as beefy. It certainly offers more by way of dynamics due to the introduction of guitarist Frank Novinec (formerly of RINGWORM and INTEGRITY). His presence is felt on the memorable and anthemic classic "Destroy Everything". However, "Supremacy" doesn't pack the same punch.

The lasting impact that these albums have made is reflected in the package's exclusive liner notes penned by journalist Mark Freebase, including contributions from hardcore historian Ian Glasper, NORTH SIDE KINGS' Danny Marianino and Christian Air of German hardcore act RYKER'S. "The Rise Of Brutality/Supremacy" includes the bonus songs "Bound To Violence" on disk one and "Pollution Of The Soul" on disk two. As abrasive as HATEBREED remains onstage these days, there's definitely a sense that the band's best material was in the earlier part of its career. So, if nothing else, this double-disk serves as a reminder of what HATEBREED is capable of creating and how monumental their previous output has been.

Author: Jay H. Gorania
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).