Season of Mist
rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Exhale
02. Unspoken
03. Grounded
04. We're Taking This
05. Long Gone
06. What Does It Take
07. Steady Breakdown
08. Low Tide
09. Vulture's Landing
10. Quicksand
11. Drifting

Officially, "Ultraviolet" is KYLESA's first new studio album in three years, albeit it certainly seems a much shorter time than that, given last year's "From the Vaults, Vol. 1". The latter felt more like its own beast than a collection of outtakes and revamps. Thus it's hard to come to their newest work without a sense of prejudgment and, to be frank, expectation.

On the one hand, KYLESA hit such a stride on their previous two albums, "Static Tensions" and "Spiral Shadow", the band has set its own bar. On the other hand, it could be argued that the time spent assembling and tweaking "From the Vaults, Vol. 1" could've potentially played a foil in work coming out so soon thereafter.

"Ultraviolet", simply put, is a grower. It doesn't bust loose like a ragin' Cajun as did their previous two full-lengths. There's a certain bit of repetition to the first half of "Ultraviolet" that calls up previous ideas culminated from the band's earlier days. Just as there are, at times, reflective swamp rat sludge motifs that come bred automatically to the Savannah sludge troupe. If the dirty boogie of "Grounded" comes off like a brackish shade of THE SWORD, DOWN and ALABAMA THUNDERPUSSY, it's probably no mistake.

It takes KYLESA six songs to generate some genuine acceleration with the PIXIES-esque "What Does it Take". "Ultraviolet" requires patience and attentive ears to all of the distortion layers, four-corner quadraphonic echo effects and random twin percussion rumbles through the first five cuts. "Exhale", "Unspoken" and "Long Gone" are so drenched with details they demand repeated listens in order to soak them up.

A dynamic slow-cooker at-large, "Ultraviolet" later delves into sonic impressionism and alt textures versus blunt aggression. Loud when they want to be, KYLESA jacks up the volume on "Long Gone", "Exhale", "What Does it Take" and "Vulture's Landing". On the opposite end of the spectrum, "Steady Breakdown" is scaled back into a lazy shuffle that allows Laura Pleasants (who is given much of the album to field vocally) to drawl soothingly while the band creates a cocoon of translucence in the solo section. True to its namesake, the song takes an ugly curve in the abbreviated outro that's halted so abruptly you're either going to cheer or groan at such artistic bravado.

In many ways, "Ultraviolet" becomes KYLESA's escape into alternative rock, evidenced by a swooning, Eighties-era U2 ether prevailing over "Low Tide" and the SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES feel of "Unspoken". Still metal in nature, the stepped-up "Vulture's Landing" carries a subliminal BREEDERS feel to the verses and not just because Laura Pleasants pulls a pretty nifty tweak of Kelley Deal. The reverb-filled "Quicksand" is smothered by ear-splitting aeronautics in the style of SONIC YOUTH even while keeping a low-end groove grinding beneath. Finally, the breezy closer "Drifting" rings like a collision between "Seven Seconds"-era CURE and later in the song, early years JUDAS PRIEST.

While we're still waiting for KYLESA to release the hounds with their two drum attack (used with less theatrics this round),what "Ultraviolet" offers the band's listeners is a skilled overview of their capacities beyond sheer bludgeoning. One of the most talented units in today's metal underground, KYLESA offers their listeners a challenge this time and the rewards unravel with repeat plays. "Ultraviolet" is a fascinating ride if not the most ferocious trip this band's mapped out. Phillip Cope primarily taking a back seat to Laura Pleasants on the mike is a humble gesture and for this album's purposes, it was the right move. Together, they're lethal on "We're Taking This". Yet Pleasants is the star attraction on "Ultraviolet" as the band at-large seeks growth from themselves. KYLESA pays out in large chunks for those who remain vigilant, even if there's proof in the pudding this band hangs on its own cloud.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).