We Have Come for Your Parents

rating icon 4 / 10

Track listing:

01. CK Killer
02. Refuse Amen
03. Justified
04. The Price Of Reality
05. May Day
06. Under The Robe
07. Waiting
08. Too Hard To Be Free
09. Ungreatful Dead
10. Piss Virus
11. Dead On The Bible
12. Take My Head
13. In Your Suit
14. Here's The Poison

Having found the group's I Am/Roadrunner Records debut to be a rather average exercise in post-punk aggression with little in the way of quality songwriting, I had extremely low expectations for AMEN's sophomore effort, a release that vocalist Casey Chaos has very ambitiously dubbed "the most violent album in major label history". Produced, once again, by Ross Robinson (who also heads up the I Am label, freshly affiliated with Virgin Records after a less-than-amicable split with Roadrunner),We Have Come For Your Parents is pretty much a continuation of the direction the band had started on the aforementioned debut, albeit with a noticeable improvement in the overall sound, which is a bit fuller and thicker this time around.


Although AMEN should be credited for pursuing a style that has little in common with their Southern Californian counterparts, the group's tuneless, noisy approach gets tiresome very quickly, with Casey's obnoxious, high-pitched screaming proving to be more irritating than effective, in the process adding a touch of abrasiveness to the songs that is bound to turn off many a discriminating listener. Unsurprisingly, there are no obvious "singles" either, leaving one to ponder exactly how Virgin Records will be able to successfully market a band that, on its debut, shifted less than 15,000 copies, particularly when the expectations this time around are so much higher.


So is this indeed "the most violent album in major label history"? In my mind, that honor  still belongs to SLAYER and PANTERA, both of whom have made careers out of issuing crushingly-heavy albums that have consistently passed the gold sales-mark, while bands like AMEN continue to produce largely unlistenable, musically inferior material that has no chance of ever living up to the substantial hype that has preceded it.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).