CARNIFEX: 'Hell Chose Me' First-Week Sales Revealed

February 24, 2010

"Hell Chose Me", the new album from the California-based deathcore band CARNIFEX, sold around 3,100 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at No. 4 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

Taking a darker and more blasphemous approach to thitseir already visceral sound, CARNIFEX unleashed "Hell Chose Me" on February 16 via Victory Records.

As the follow-up to 2008's death metal masterpiece "The Diseased And The Poisoned", CARNIFEX's third album takes aggression to the next level. Influenced by the likes of CANNIBAL CORPSE, SUFFOCATION, and THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, this San Diego quintet really knows how to bring the brutality. Growing in notoriety, CARNIFEX has been featured in Kerrang!, Outburn and Revolver magazines.

"From when we started to now, a lot has changed," states vocalist Scott Lewis. "The progression we've gone through is staggering. With the confidence we have in this record, we know we will be making new fans.

"If anybody is expecting CARNIFEX to lighten it up, better luck next time. Dark, sick, painful — that's the concept of this album lyrically, and the music brings all of that emotion and puts it right inside your head."

"Hell Chose Me" track listing:

01. Hell Chose Me
02. Dead Archetype
03. Entombed Monarch
04. Names Mean Nothing
05. Heartless
06. Sorrowspell
07. The Scope Of Obsession
08. By Darkness Enslaved
09. The Liar's Funeral
10. Genocide Initiative

Having returned from the Bonecrusher Fest tour in Europe, CARNIFEX will begin to annihilate the masses in San Diego, California on March 5 on the Atticus Metal Tour.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).