LINKIN PARK's 'A Thousand Suns' Tops BILLBOARD's European Albums Chart

September 24, 2010

According to, LINKIN PARK's "A Thousand Suns" (Warner Bros./Warner Music) has topped Billboard's European Albums chart — the band's third consecutive studio album to debut at No. 1. The CD will need four straight weeks at the top of the chart to match the achievement of both 2007's "Minutes To Midnight" and 2003's "Meteora". The band's 2000 debut, "Hybrid Theory", debuted at No. 90 in early 2001, but went on to reach No. 3 some eight months later, and turned multi-platinum in several European markets.

"A Thousand Suns" debuted at No. 1 in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Portugal, No. 2 in the United Kingdom (on sales of 46,000) and Denmark, No. 3 in Spain and Ireland, No. 4 in France and Norway, No. 7 in Holland and climbed 4-2 and 8-4 in the Belgian regions of Flanders and Wallony, respectively.

"A Thousand Suns", sold 241,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 1 on The Billboard 200 chart.

"A Thousand Suns" is LINKIN PARK's fourth consecutive U.S. chart-topper, following 2003's "Meteora", 2004's "Collision Course" EP with Jay-Z, and 2007's "Minutes To Midnight".

Like every other act, however, LINKIN PARK's sales reflect the current realities of the music business: while 241,000 copies is impressive, "Minutes To Midnight" sold 623,000 in its first week.

"A Thousand Suns" features the following track listing:

01. The Requiem
02. The Radiance
03. Burning In The Skies
04. Empty Spaces
05. When They Come For Me
06. Robot Boy
07. Jornada Del Muerto
08. Waiting For The End
09. Blackout
10. Wretches And Kings
11. Wisdom, Justice, And Love
12. Iridescent
13. Fallout
14. The Catalyst
15. The Messenger

Check out the "A Thousand Suns" cover artwork below.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).