STÖNER Feat. Former KYUSS Members BRANT BJORK And NICK OLIVERI: Live Album 'Hittin' The Bitchin' Switch' Due In October

July 10, 2024

STÖNER, the supergroup formed by desert rock godfathers and long-time compadres Brant Bjork (founding member of KYUSS, also former member of FU MANCHU),Nick Oliveri (MONDO GENERATOR, former member of KYUSS, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE) and Ryan Güt, will release a new live album "Hittin' The Bitchin' Switch", on October 11 via Heavy Psych Sounds.

The LP's first single, a cover of KYUSS's "Green Machine", can be streamed below.

STÖNER previously released two studio full-length albums and one EP on Heavy Psych Sounds.

Celebrating three studio records and three years of intensive touring across Europe, North America and Australia/New Zealand, STÖNER is ready to embark you on their groove-laden live experience with "Hittin' The Bitchin' Switch". Coming in a gorgeous double LP gatefold edition, the album features the band's greatest hits as well as their acclaimed covers of the KYUSS classics "Gardenia" and "Green Machine". It was recorded live at Altroquando in Treviso, Italy by Matteo Pillon, engineered, mixed and mastered by Tommaso Mantelli and Max Ear at Lesder Studio. It will be issued in ultra-limited colored vinyl (two versions),limited magenta vinyl, classic black vinyl, CD digipack and digital.

"Hittin' The Bitchin' Switch" track listing:

01. A Million Beers
02. Party March
03. The Older Kids
04. Rad Stays Rad
05. Evel Never Dies
06. Night Tripper vs No Brainer
07. Stand Down
08. Own Yer Blues
09. It Ain't Free
10. R.A.M.O.N.E.S.
11. Tribe - Fly Girl
12. Strawberry Creek
13. Nothin'
14. Gardenia (KYUSS cover)
15. Green Machine (KYUSS cover)

STÖNER's debut album, "Stoners Rule", came out in June 2021 via Heavy Psych Sounds. A follow-up effort, "Totally...", arrived in May 2022.

Released in 2023, the "Boogie To Baja" EP comprised of five songs recorded in the same sessions as "Totally..."

Brant told Outlaws Of The Sun about how STÖNER came together: "Nick called me up and wanted to jam. So we got together and we were having a blast and this felt right. It was cool all of us playing together. It felt like we were kids starting out again just playing for the fun of it without any outside pressure.

"We all put our musical influences into this via original jam sessions," he added. "This feels like a mixture of punk rock, metal, blues rock and hard rock. Some stuff we're already known for and some stuff that will surprise and hopefully entertain people."

Brant went on to call STÖNER "a full-time thing. We've got long-term plans for STÖNER and the music that we create."

According to Bjork, "it's been nothing but fun playing with Nick and my drummer Ryan Güt. I wanted to do something different and STÖNER allowed me the opportunity to do this," he said. "This project feels right for me. It feels good vibing new ideas off Nick, who is one of my closest friends."

Find more on Kyuss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).