SUNNDRUG To Release 'Exit Wounds' Album In October

September 28, 2016

Virginia Beach quintet SUNNDRUG, which includes Chris Raines (former drummer of NORMA JEAN and original drummer of SPITFIRE) and Jimmy Reeves (original bassist for SPITFIRE),will release its debut album, "Exit Wounds", on October 31 via Mind Over Matter Records.

A lyric video for the record's latest single, "Shining", can be seen below.

"We worked with ITAL/C studio to create the album art, and they gave us some great imagery to work with," said Reeves, who is the vocalist for the new project. "Ron Thompson shot the photos and we wanted to edit them together in a way that supported the dark feel of 'Shining'."

When asked about the track itself, Reeves said: "'Shining' was the last song we wrote before starting to record the album. Its working title was 'Bonham Song' because the sonic inspiration for it came from the way LED ZEPPELIN played the blues. It's a jilted love story based around the setting of a well-curated online life being a mirage for a person whose reality doesn’t live up to it. The end of the song is a moment on the record I'm particularly proud of because I think the music evokes something even without lyrics."

SUNNDRUG began as a songwriting outlet for Reeves as he worked his way through a crumbling relationship of over ten years. When Reeves started writing "Exit Wounds", he rekindled a musical partnership with former bandmate Chris Raines, who was the original drummer of SPITFIRE and also spent some time drumming in the metalcore band NORMA JEAN. The album constructs a narrative of a man coming apart at the seams as he attempts to get a fix on a reality that is nothing more than sand in his fist. After they completed the 12 tracks, they enlisted a seasoned crew of musicians to help them take the songs to the stage.

"Exit Wounds" was mixed by Jeremy Simeon Howell Griffith and mastered by Andreas Magnusson.

"Exit Wounds" track listing:

01. White Ladders
02. Denial
03. Blackout
04. Psyvamp
05. Shining
06. Stilts
07. Exit Wounds
08. Halo
09. Big Data
10. Echolalia
11. Group Therapy
12. Young Blood


Find more on Sunndrug
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).