VAN HALEN Shares 'Top Of The World' Performance From 1991

June 13, 2024

Ahead of the upcoming release of the expanded edition of VAN HALEN's "For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge" on July 12 via Rhino, the band has unveiled a previously unreleased professionally filmed live performance of "Top Of The World". The footage was filmed live at the West End Marketplace in Dallas, Texas on December 4, 1991, just six months after "For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge" was released. "Top Of The World" spent four weeks at the top of the Billboard Album Rock Tracks chart in the U.S., becoming VAN HALEN's eighth No. 1 on this chart. It was the only single off the album to crack the Top 40 on the Billboard Hot 100, peaking at No. 27.

"For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge" debuted at No. 1 and stayed there for three weeks during the summer of 1991. It was the third consecutive No. 1 album from singer Sammy Hagar, guitarist Eddie Van Halen, drummer Alex Van Halen and bassist Michael Anthony.

An expanded edition of the album is arriving this summer from Rhino, including a newly remastered version of the original, along with previously unreleased audio and video footage from VAN HALEN's December 4, 1991 concert in Dallas, Texas.

"For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge (Expanded Edition)" will be available on July 12 and includes two LPs, two CDs, and a Blu-ray. will have an exclusive bundle featuring the release and a set of four seven-inch singles, including "Poundcake" / "Pleasure Dome", "Top Of The World" / "In 'N' Out", "Right Now" (Organ Version) / "Man On A Mission" and "Right Now" (Guitar Version) / "The Dream Is Over" (Instrumental Version).

Originally released in June 1991, "For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge" was an immediate success. It reached triple platinum certification and earned VAN HALEN its first Grammy Award for "Best Hard Rock Performance" and American Music Award for "Favorite Heavy Metal/Hard Rock Album". Producer and engineer Bernie Grundman expertly remastered and cut lacquers for this edition, ensuring pristine sound quality.

The expanded edition includes previously unreleased alternate versions of "Right Now" and "The Dream Is Over". The main attraction, however, has to be the previously unreleased concert footage from VAN HALEN's December 4, 1991, performance in Dallas. Captured during the "For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge" tour, this electrifying show is a powerful example of VAN HALEN's unparalleled stage presence.

The show's setlist mixes new songs ("Judgement Day" and "Poundcake") with songs from "5150" and "OU812" ("Best Of Both Worlds" and "Finish What Ya Started"). The band also played "Panama", a hit from its time with singer David Lee Roth, plus two of Hagar's hits, "I Can't Drive 55" and "There's Only One Way To Rock".

In addition, the Blu-ray includes the official music videos for "Poundcake", "Runaround", "Top Of The World" and the 1992 MTV VMA "Video Of The Year" winner "Right Now". Finally, the remastered album is included in the set as a double LP, featuring an etching of the VAN HALEN logo on the fourth side.

"For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge (Expanded Edition)" 2-CD track listing

Disc One: Original Album Remastered

01. Poundcake
02. Judgement Day
03. Spanked
04. Runaround
05. Pleasure Dome
06. In 'N' Out
07. Man On A Mission
08. The Dream Is Over
09. Right Now
10. 316
11. Top Of The World

Disc Two: Rarities & Live

01. Right Now – Organ Version (Single Mix)
02. The Dream Is Over – Instrumental Version *
03. Right Now – Guitar Version (Single Mix) *

Live at the Westend Market, Dallas, TX (12/4/91)

04. Poundcake *
05. Judgement Day *
06. There's Only One Way To Rock *
07. Runaround *
08. Why Can't This Be Love *
09. Panama *
10. A Apolitical Blues *
11. Finish What Ya Started *
12. I Can't Drive 55 *
13. Best Of Both Worlds *
14. Top Of The World *


Live at the Westend Market, Dallas, TX (12/4/91)

01. Poundcake *
02. Judgement Day *
03. There's Only One Way To Rock *
04. Runaround *
05. Why Can't This Be Love *
06. Panama *
07. A Apolitical Blues *
08. Finish What Ya Started *
09. I Can't Drive 55 *
10. Best Of Both Worlds *
11. Top Of The World *
12. Poundcake - Promo Video
13. Runaround - Promo Video
14. Right Now - Promo Video
15. Top Of The World - Promo Video

LP: Original Album Remastered

2-LP track listing

LP One: Side One

01. Poundcake
02. Judgement Day
03. Spanked
04. Runaround

Side Two

01. Pleasure Dome
02. In 'N' Out
03. Man On A Mission

LP Two: Side One

01. The Dream Is Over
02. Right Now
03. 316
04. Top Of The World

Side Two

VAN HALEN Logo Etching

* Previously unreleased

Find more on Van halen
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).