rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. I Am Abomination
02. Nathicana
03. Sculptor of Flesh
04. Celestial Deconstruction
05. To Rottendom
06. From the Deeps
07. Slaves to Slaughter
08. Hellfire

As soon as the demonic yell of "Hellfire!" announces the beginning of 1349's third full-length album, something immediately tells you that Norway's upper-tier black metal horde has come of age. There's a confidence and stylistic presence on "Hellfire" that sets it apart from its worthy predecessors, "Liberation" and "Beyond the Apocalypse". As the twisted riffs and machine-gun drumming of SATYRICON's Frost (is this guy really human?) on "I Am Abomination" begin, the band's scorched earth policy ceases only when the 13-minute inferno hymn of the title track is complete.

Vocalist Ravn is among several of the album's weapons of mass destruction, his vocal style abrasive and ripping, yet brought forth with a fuller, slightly more intelligible delivery this time. His grasp of patterning and nuance surpasses anything done on the prior two efforts. Let's not kid ourselves though; these are relative descriptors. His attack has all the subtlety of the projectile blood vomiting afflicting the infected humans in "28 Days Later". It's the way the jagged and jutting riffs of guitarist Tjalve and Archaon lambaste the listener such unforgiving cruelty that goes so well with Ravn's spells of hellish rage and Frost's drum battery, lifting these songs out of the abyss and into the mortal world to wreak havoc. "Sculptor of Flesh" is one of several examples of an approach that chokes with primal savagery and tramples the weak underfoot with thrashed up riffs. A more epically evil atrocity is committed on "From the Deeps"; no less intense, but with a (relatively) controlled pace and smothering application. You'll swear you saw thick, black smoke and smelled burning flesh before it's all said and done.

Cutting to the chase, 1349's "Hellfire" is one of the best pure black metal releases of 2005. Frighteningly sick and hotter than Hades, "Hellfire" may very well leave you incapacitated and covered with third degree burns.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).