rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Until The Break Of Day
02. The Light In Your Eyes
03. Lonely
04. Imprisoned
05. The Sound Of Nothing

Putting aside the age-old debate about the difference between 'progressive' and 'prog' for a moment, it's always exciting to hear someone gleefully nailing a classic sound. Thunderously heavy but technically adept on a level that seems slightly unfair, MERCURY X are undoubtedly going to excite a huge number of DREAM THEATER and SYMPHONY X fans with their new album. "Imprisoned" is a rampaging and exuberant piece of work, and one that serves up every desirable aspect of those aforementioned bands' trademark sounds. Frontman and guitarist Martin Björklund has a powerful voice, full of Russell Allen-like grit but able to switch seamlessly to misty-eyed pathos, and, as you might expect, his colleagues are all absurdly gifted technicians. From the opening seconds of "Until The Break Of Day" onwards, the band's third album is impossible to fault on a technical level, nor in terms of its production, which is as beefy and precise as it deserves to be. For all of the above alone, MERCURY X are worthy of your attention. "Imprisoned" sounds massive and ruthlessly contemporary. Meanwhile, these guys can really fucking play.

Beyond delivering the expected prog metal goods, MERCURY X are also forging their own singular path. Scratch the surface and "Imprisoned" has unexpected depths and a fearsome and singular identity, as the Swedes gently subvert that cherished old-school prog metal formula. Both "The Light In Your Eyes" and "Lonely" are strongly melodic but full of curious tonal shifts and atmospheric tricks, with Björklund's voice an endlessly compelling focal point at the center of the storm. These are seriously memorable and well-crafted songs, too with clever vocal harmonies and swathes of mid-ground ambience that all conspire to generate an otherworldly feel.

If there are echoes of a more modern conception of prog metal here, then that is surely deliberate: the lines between the old school and today's liberated thinkers are skillfully blurred throughout this album's immersive 40 minutes, and particularly during the title track. At an ambitious 20 minutes in length, it begins in true classic prog metal fashion, but the twists, turns and detours that MERCURY X subsequently take are anything but perfunctory. Instead, "Imprisoned" is an eccentric and tumultuous journey that surfs multiple peaks and valleys, buoyed by the power of everything from clangorous groove metal to shimmering post-rock. In fact, it's such an extraordinary song that album closer "The Sound Of Nothing" comes across as slightly ordinary in comparison. It isn't ordinary, of course, and MERCURY X are manifestly operating on some high prog metal plane throughout this record. But that epic and pointedly proggy centerpiece suggests that this band are capable of even greater feats of genre-twisting gallantry. For now, "Imprisoned" is more than enough.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).