SOILWORK Announces New Album 'Övergivenheten', Drops Title Track

May 13, 2022

Sweden's melodic death metal veterans SOILWORK will release their first studio album in three years, "Övergivenheten", on August 19 via Nuclear Blast Records. The official music video for the LP's title track can be seen below.

Musically and lyrically evolved, "Övergivenheten" is described in a press release as SOILWORK's "most complex and elaborate album to date which marks a new phase of their career. Not only due to the tremendous effort and time they put in but also the results on the album reflect years of development and experience as a band."

SOILWORK frontman Björn Strid comments: "The title track of this album just might be the pinnacle of this band's musical journey — it sums up everything that we've ever been about and the sometimes risky musical venture that this band embarked on some 20 years ago. To me, this song is as close to the heart as it gets."

SOILWORK was formed in Helsingborg in 1995. Following two highly acclaimed albums, "Steel Bath Suicide" (1998) and "The Chainheart Machine" (1999) on Listenable Records, SOILWORK joined the Nuclear Blast roster in 2001. The band's unique blend of melodic metal developed at a staggering rate as they released a new bombshell each year, touring aggressively throughout North America, Europe, Australia, and Japan. Some of the highlights included Ozzfest alongside headliners BLACK SABBATH and IRON MAIDEN and an arena tour with LAMB OF GOD and KILLSWITCH ENGAGE. Their latest release was an EP, "A Whisp Of The Atlantic", featuring the 16-minute-title track.

In a 2013 interview with Australia's Heavy, Strid stated about his use of growled and clean vocals in SOILWORK: "I try to not limit myself. I just 'feel' it out, try to capture the song's feel. I've always been curious about trying out new things with vocals. I've never really wanted to get stuck in one thing, whether it was screams or clean. There's so much in between, you can go many different ways. I also have a band with David [Andersson] called THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA and that was definitely a challenge for me vocally as well. I think I got to know my voice a lot from that because it was a totally new thing for me."


Björn "Speed" Strid - vocals
David Andersson - guitars
Sven Karlsson - keyboards
Sylvain Coudret - guitars
Bastian Thusgaard - drums
Rasmus Ehrnborn - bass

Find more on Soilwork
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email